wish to ask for advice

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

wish to ask for advice

Postby crabtree » Sun Nov 10, 2002 12:20 am

hi to everyone.. me newbie here...

let's say i wanna upgrade to AMD XP2000+
what kinda motherboard is the best value buy for it...

AMD XP2000+ is equivalent to what class of Intel ???

i recently just bought 256MB of SDRAM.. but will it able to fit in with the newmotherboard?

Can anyone explain what is raid? ppl told me that with raid.. you double your hdd transfer rate by hooking 2 hardisk.. just like the way you hook up 2 dial-up modem...


AMD 2000+... is it a good buy? I am just a student and can't afford much... ?
crabtree
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 12:15 am

Postby Happy Hillbilly » Sun Nov 10, 2002 12:32 am

The type of mobo you get will depend on what you are going to be using it for. You can get a decent low-end mobo & cpu for close to $100 US. Maybe a little more. Tell us what you are going to be doing with this computer so that we can better help you out.

Welcome to Motherboards.org! :wink:
Luke 6:31
Happy Hillbilly
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1942
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 8:30 pm
Location: Murphy,NC (Apopka,FL)

i want value buy :)

Postby crabtree » Sun Nov 10, 2002 12:58 am

hmm.. i am living outside US and has limited budget...

my preplaning combinations of hardware would be AMD XP2000+, motherboard w/o much built-in "freebies" coz I got everything (NVIDIA 3D,SoundBlaster Live, Modem Blaster)...

just that i was rather stuck here becoz i hv a extra PC133 256 Mb ram.. dunno whether I can fit it in any of the new motherboard...

i am a heavy CS gamers but with limited $...

I want everything last long,value buy... i wonder XP2000+ is really equivalent to Pentium4 2Ghz or more than that...



I want my boot up time and transfer rate fast enough also..becoz I do lotsa MPEG Converting fr VHS :)

I just wonder that type of motherboard do i need...

Can u tell me more wat is RAID... it's function and whether i really need 2 HDD to get it work..?

(does it work like hooking up double dial-up modem as well?)


thankx...
crabtree
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 12:15 am


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests