The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 7:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DIVS IN HTML
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 11:09 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 11:13 pm
Posts: 79
Hi

I am having trouble with some divs in HTML. The problem is basically when the content is too long it overlaps in the bottom.


You can see what i mean over here
http://vaniercollege.org/chrisostomos/TEMPLATE1/


Its where the text says OVER HERE on the page, that is suppose to be part of the content.

So basically the footer and every other part is suppose to go down.

The error only shows up in FIREFOX

Thanks for any input at all

Chris Vicatou


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 8:25 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20860
Location: 07438
Use the HTML language to place the text exactly where wanted. Use the line/column configuration.

Example from HTML editor handbook:
<HEADER>
<STYLE>
DIV.Beetles {bacground: #FFFF20; font-style: Arabic}
</STYLE>
</HEAD>
</BODY>

<DIV CLASS="Beetles">
<H2>Beetles</H2>
{topic or source}


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 12:06 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Posts: 2792
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
Firefox, Mozilla etc isnt forgiving with bad coding. IE bends rules and works out of validated code restraints (thats a bad thing).

Are you familiar with validation?
Run your html through here.
http://validator.w3.org/

It can help you code and is a great tool.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 6:46 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 4:12 am
Posts: 965
Location: longisland
Another option is to create an image map 800/600 with adjustable sides. I'm drawing a blank... Like a blank frame. See here

http://www.aibuilt.com/mastic.html

This is a site I am still working through. I have had the same problem when setting up websoft DB's.

_________________
Help humanity join Motherboards.org Folding
IBM X440 IBM Netfinity x 2
Abit NF7S replaced by DFI Lan Party
2600+Mobile@2540
2x1Ghz OCZ
MSI RX9800pro R360
Aardvark ProQ10
Skyhawk Aluminum



Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group