Does this look right...

Discuss all aspects of programming here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Does this look right...

Postby ~Rob » Wed Apr 13, 2005 11:57 am

Trying to make an autorun CD for my ICT project. It's just to be a teachers pet really.

I have the user documentation in the form of a website with the main page index.html and want it to autorun


Is it:
Code: Select all
[Autorun]
open=index.html
icon=ico.bmp


or do I need more? Also, what size are icon images?
Image
Jocuri cu impuscaturi si alte genuri, pentru toate varstele doar pe acest link - distractie si amuzament garantat!
~Rob
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 8:26 pm
Location: Norwich, UK

Postby Toby B. » Thu Apr 14, 2005 1:45 am

or do I need more? Also, what size are icon images?
No clue as to if that's sufficient or not. Might be worthwhile to give it a try and see what happens. As far as the icon pics - should be something easily figured out if your the one creating this...

If you are asking how to size the images, you can just use HTML code to do that..
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby ~Rob » Thu Apr 14, 2005 7:21 am

All done now, I used a freeware program that does it. Nearly hit something trying to figure it out and went through 6 CD's!
Image
Jocuri cu impuscaturi si alte genuri, pentru toate varstele doar pe acest link - distractie si amuzament garantat!
~Rob
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 8:26 pm
Location: Norwich, UK

Postby Toby B. » Thu Apr 14, 2005 7:30 am

cool
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby netaces2k » Fri Apr 22, 2005 12:42 am

As an example, find your Windows CD-ROm or any retail software CD and take a look at the autorun.ini.
netaces2k
 

Postby evasive » Sat Apr 23, 2005 5:01 am

autorun.inf

usually

[autorun]
open=start index.htm


However, if you do this, Windows displays a DOS box briefly, which looks nasty. (And start might not be available on some systems.)
If you are only targeting recent Windows systems, then you can use the shellexecute command to open a file without a flickering DOS box:

[autorun]
shellexecute=index.htm


if you want something else, there are little tools around that open the file for you.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron