Hosting a forum from homw computer

Discuss all aspects of programming here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Hosting a forum from homw computer

Postby chrisostomos » Sun Mar 06, 2005 9:42 pm

Hi
I am wondering what i would need to host a forum from my home computer
I am lookin to install phbBB but i dont know how. I already have oracle installed but i dont know how to install phpBB on it


Thanks
chrisostomos
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 11:13 pm

Re: Hosting a forum from homw computer

Postby Toby B. » Sun Mar 06, 2005 11:05 pm

chrisostomos wrote:Hi
I am wondering what i would need to host a forum from my home computer
I am lookin to install phbBB but i dont know how. I already have oracle installed but i dont know how to install phpBB on it


Thanks
You need a webserver such as Apache, a database. Other then that you are stuck reading the install docs...
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby atang1 » Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:26 pm

I think the task to host on your own computer can best be learned from the free phpbb hosts on the internet already.

They use phpbb v2.0xx software and setup accounts for each subdomain.

Try a few and you get the drift of the business.

Otherwise you have to pay for a domain name, and get an ISP to have T1 broadband, and use their computer to host a phpbb software.

If you have T1 PCI card, then you can have direct service from a telephone company. You have to have phpbb software to answer your telephone connection from your own computer. Which is pretty much what people used to do using Mustang BBS software.

I think the first investigation is cost free. Then you have burdens of paying monthly to your ISP. The last option is a few thousands of dollars paying to the telephone company, each year.
atang1
 

Postby Toby B. » Wed Mar 09, 2005 3:27 pm

you can host a phpBB forum on a home computer. I know people that do it plus I have a couple on mine right now.....

All I have is a 3Mbps/768Kbps DSL connection....

For optimum database performance you need a fast processor and lots of RAM...
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine


Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest