Public Opinion needed

Discuss all aspects of programming here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby MoboCop » Wed Jan 19, 2005 2:52 pm

ok here is some initial code.

This was validated as xhtml 1.1 strict here (very useful tool)

http://validator.w3.org/

Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

<html>
    <head>
        <title>Consumer Technical Information</title>
        <meta name="description" content="Your number one resource for Compaq and HP information." />
        <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"/>
        <meta name="keywords" content="Compaq, pc, computers, technical support, motherboards" />
        <meta name="author" content="Toby Bibeau" />
        <meta name="robots" content="All" />
        <link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/style_01.css" type="text/css" />
       
        <style type="text/css">
         @import "/css/layout_01.css";
      </style>
    </head>

    <body>

    <h1>FOCUS</h1>
    <h2>(OEM Asus A7N8X-LA)</h2>

    <hr />

    <div>
        <a href="/model/a7n8x-la/a7n8x-la.jpg"><img src="/model/a7n8x-la/a7n8x-la.jpg" alt="example" /></a>
    </div>

    <div>
        <dl>
            <dt>Supported Processors:</dt>
               <dd>AthlonXP</dd>
               <dd>upto 3200+</dd>
           <dt>Bus:</dt>
               <dd>Socket A - 333/400 MHz FSB</dd>
           <dt>Chipset:</dt>
               <dd>NVIDIA nForce2</dd>
           <dt>Memory:</dt>
               <dd>Two Total DIMM Slots</dd>
               <dd>1 GB (2 x 512MB)</dd>
               <dd>PC2700</dd>
           <dt>Video:</dt>
               <dd>8x AGP Slot</dd>
           <dt>Expansion:</dt>
               <dd>3 PCI Slots</dd>
           <dt>Part Number(s):</dt>
               <dd>XXXXXX-XXX</dd>
       </dl>           
   </div>
   
    <div>
        <h3>Additional Images:</h3>
        None
    </div>

    <h3>Found in the following systems:</h3>
    <h4>HP</h4>
    <p>t319.fr, t320.se, t320.it, t325.it, t329.fr, t330.fr, t335.uk, t340.be, t340.se, t350.fr, t350.no, t350.se, t360.se, t360.dk, t380.fi, t380.nl, t380.se, t430.it, t450.se, t460.dk, t460.se, t465.dk, t480.fi, a139.fr, a210.no, a215.it, a219.dk, a220.it, a220.se, a220.fi, a229.dk, a230.se, a230.be, a230.dk, a230.fr, a230.pt, a235.uk, a240.es, a240.fi, a248.fr, t230.it, t235.fr, t240.dk, t240.no, t250.fr, t150.be, t260.se, t270.se, t270.nl, t280.nl, a309.fi, a320.no, a320.es, a320.pt, a320.it, a330.uk, a330.it, a330.pt, a339.be, a339.pt, a340.fi, a340.fr, a350.fr</p>
       
    <h4>Compaq</h4>
    <p>S4090fr, S4200dk, S4200fi, S4200se, S4290fr, S4400se, S4500dk, S4500it, S4500uk, S4700uk, S5290it, S5295fr, S5298fr, S5300it, S5300nl, S5320es, S5350nl, S5390es, S5390fr, S5400it, S5500uk, S5590it, S5600se, S6400es</p>

    <h3>Maintenance and Service Guide:</h3>
    <p>None</p>

    <h3>Retail Board:</h3>
    <p>This board is an OEM Asus A7N8X-LA.<br />
    <i>No information avalible from Asus.</i></p>

    <h3>Notes:</h3>
    <p>The bios program has been altered to a Compaq specific version. It is not recommended to flash back to the original. If anyone does this successfully please notify us by <a href="/contact.html">email</a>. </p>
   
    <div>
        <p> - <a href="http://www.s87841630.onlinehome.us/forum/viewtopic.php?t=223">Discuss this article</a></p>
   </div>
   
   <div>
        <p>-Your #1 Source For Compaq &amp; HP Info-</p>
    </div>

    <div>
        <?php
            echo date("F j, Y");
        ?>
    </div>

    <div>
        <p>Advertisement<br />
          <a href="http://www.motherboards.org/"><img src="/images/mbhwneedinfo.gif" height="60" width="468" alt="" /></a></p>
    </div>
   
    <div>
        <a href="/index.html" class="sidenav">Home</a> |
        <a href="/quickspecs/index.html" class="sidenav">Quickspecs</a> |
        <a href="/smatrix/index.html" class="sidenav">Serial Matrix</a> |
        <a href="/contact.html" class="sidenav">Contact Us</a> |
        <a href="/forum/index.php" class="sidenav">Forum</a> |
        <a href="/support.html" class="sidenav">Support and Drivers</a>
    </div>

    </body>
</html>


Now in the <head> section I have put in place holders for two css files (style for the color and such) and (layout for the placement of the contents). I have not made these files yet.

You will also notice that the header, ad, menu, and date are all last in the code. This is on purpose (you want the content first for search engines), once the layout.css file is made it will position those items properly.

If you view the current code this is what the page will look like to any browser that does not support CSS2 (old browsers and some wireless devices). The nice thing about this method is that these visitors will still have access to everything.

I have to put off making the css files for a bit as I am sick and need some rest but in the meantime if you have time compare your code with the new one and try to see the differences. I think you will find it much more easy to deal with. Less code, more obvious structure and no digging through a million <td> tags to find something.

The other benefits you will find once the css is done is that everything (layout and presentation) will be handled in a seperate file seamlessly and will alllow you to modify the look and feel of your entire site from a couple files without touching the original html pages.

Enjoy. I hope I was clear. If not just let me know.
Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted - Albert Einstien
MoboCop
Drunken Master
 
Posts: 8854
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Fresno

Postby Toby B. » Wed Jan 19, 2005 2:58 pm

I am sure I will have more questions, but will hold off so you can get feeling better....

Thanks
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Toby B. » Wed Jan 19, 2005 3:49 pm

ok since this spawned into yet another coding thread I have moved it to thr appropriate forum.. :wink:

ok to set things off right. I am using php code for the header:
header.inc code
Code: Select all
 <head>
<title>Consumer Technical Information</title>

<meta NAME="description" CONTENT="Your number one resource for Compaq and HP information.">
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
   <meta NAME="keywords" CONTENT="Compaq, Compaq PC's, compaq computers, Compaq technical support, computer hardware, compaq information, Compaq motherboards, Aspen, Aspen2, BMW/BMW-2, BMW-R, CAMARO, CE-31A, KBI-6130, KBA-6130, Mitac, FIC, Trigem, Asus, UIB1, ZZ-Top, MSI, MS-6553, Intel, BI440ZX, TR100, LORRETTO, Uwave, Uwave2, Uwave3, Uwave-R, AZ31, Pipeline, ELISE/ELISE-SWAP, Compaq Maintanence/Sevice Guides, motherboards, mainboards, mobos">
   <meta NAME="author" CONTENT="Toby Bibeau">
   <meta NAME="robots" CONTENT="All">

<BASE HREF="http://www.s87841630.onlinehome.us/">
<link rel="stylesheet" href="common/compaq_style.css" type="text/css">


</head>

<body leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" width="fixed">
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tr>
<td>
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
<tr width="50%" bgcolor="#8b0000">
<td><p><b><font color="#ffffff">&nbsp;-Your #1 Source For Compaq & HP Info-</font></b></p></td>
<td width="50%" bgcolor="#8b0000">
          <p align="right"><font color="#ffffff">&nbsp;
           <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="Javascript" type="javascript">
           <!--
           var days = new Array("Sunday","Monday","Tuesday","Wednesday","Thursday","Friday","Saturday");
           var months = new Array("January","February","March","April","May","June","July","August",
           "September","October","November","December");
           var now = new Date();
         var year = now.getYear();
         if(year<1000)
         year+=2000;
           document.write(days[now.getDay()] + ", " + months[now.getMonth()] + " " + now.getDate() + ", " + year);
           // -->
           </SCRIPT>&nbsp;</p>
           </font></td>
</tr>
</table>

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%" bgcolor="white">
<tr>
<td width="100%" valign="top" bgcolor="#C0C0C0">
          <p align="center"><font color="#000000">Advertisement</font><br/>
          <a href="http://www.motherboards.org/"><img src="./../images/mbhwneedinfo.gif" border="0" height="60" width="468"></a></p></td>

</tr>
</table>

<table border="0" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
<tr width="100%" bgcolor="#8b0000">
<td>&nbsp;<a href="index.html" class="sidenav">Home</a> <font color="#ffffff">|</font> <a href="quickspecs/index.html" class="sidenav">Quickspecs</a> <font color="#ffffff">|</font> <a href="./smatrix/index.html" class="sidenav">Serial Matrix</a> <font color="#ffffff">|</font> <a href="contact.html" class="sidenav">Contact Us</a> <font color="#ffffff">|</font> <a href="./forum/index.php" class="sidenav">Forum</a> <font color="#ffffff">|</font> <a href="./support.html" class="sidenav">Support and Drivers</td>

<td>
<div align="right"><table style="border: 0px solid black; background color: #8b0000; float: center;"><tr><td>
<center>&nbsp;</td></tr></table>
</div></td>
</tr>
</table>


So my actual preliminary code for the page looks like:
Code: Select all
<?php
include ('./../../includes/header.inc')
?>
<table border="0" width="70%" cellspacing="0" valign="top" align="left">
<tr>
<TD WIDTH=2 bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
&nbsp;
</TD>
<td width="100%" height=150 bgcolor="#FFFFFF" VALIGN=TOP>
   <BR>
     
       <div class="#contentheader; float: center;"><b>FOCUS</b></div><div><p> (OEM Asus A7N8X-LA)</p></div>

       <HR>



<table style="border: 1px solid black; border-collapse: collapse; padding: 0; margin: 0; background-color: transparent; float: left; width: 30%; height: 20;">
       <TH style="background-color: #D3D3D3; text-align: center; font-size: 12px; font-color: white; padding: 0;">Image</TH>

<TR><TD><CENTER>
<A HREF="./model/a7n8x-la/a7n8x-la.jpg" TARGET="__new">
<IMG SRC="./model/a7n8x-la/a7n8x-la.jpg" alt="example" BORDER=0 HEIGHT=150>
</A>
</CENTER>
</TD>
</TR>

</table>



<table valign="top" style="border: 0px; background color: transparent; float: right; width: 68%;">
<TR><TD class=submenuheading><p align="left">
   <table class=TABLESTUFF WIDTH=75% border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding=0 valign="top">
   <TR>
   <TD COLSPAN=2><B>Supported Processors: </b>
   </TD>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   </TR>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   <TD COLSPAN=2>
   AthlonXP<BR>
   upto 3200+
   </TD>
   </TR>

   <TR>
   <TD COLSPAN=2><B>Bus: </b>
   </TD>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   </TR>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   <TD COLSPAN=2>
   Socket A - 333/400 MHz FSB
   </TD>
   </TR>

   <TR>
   <TD COLSPAN=2><B>Chipset: </b>
   </TD>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   </TR>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   <TD COLSPAN=2>
   NVIDIA nForce2
   </TD>
   </TR>

   <TR>
   <TD COLSPAN=2><B>Memory: </b>
   </TD>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   </TR>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   <TD COLSPAN=2>
   Two Total DIMM Slots<BR>
   1 GB (2 x 512MB)
   PC2700
   </TD>
   </TR>

   <TR>
   <TD COLSPAN=2><B>Video: </b>
   </TD>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   </TR>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   <TD COLSPAN=2>
   8x AGP Slot
   </TD>
   </TR>

   <TR>
   <TD COLSPAN=2><B>Expansion: </b>
   </TD>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   </TR>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   <TD COLSPAN=2>
   3 PCI Slots
   </TD>
   </TR>

   <TR>
   <TD COLSPAN=2><B>Part Number(s): </b>
   </TD>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   </TR>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   <TD COLSPAN=2>
   XXXXXX-XXX
   </TD>
   </TR>

   <TR>   
   <TD WIDTH=10%>   
   </TD>
   <TD>
   </TD>
   <TD WIDTH=10%>   
   </TD></TR></TABLE>





</TD></TR></table>



</td>


</tr>
<TR>
<TD WIDTH=2 bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
&nbsp;
</TD>
<td bgcolor="#FFFFFF" VALIGN=TOP>
<p align="left">
<B>Additional Images:</B><BR>
None

</P>


<BR>

<p align="left">
<B>Found in the following systems:</B><BR>
(<i>blue = HP | red = Compaq</i>)<br>
<font class="hp">t319.fr, t320.se, t320.it, t325.it, t329.fr, t330.fr, t335.uk, t340.be, t340.se, t350.fr, t350.no, t350.se, t360.se, t360.dk, t380.fi, t380.nl, t380.se, t430.it, t450.se, t460.dk, t460.se, t465.dk, t480.fi, a139.fr, a210.no, a215.it, a219.dk, a220.it, a220.se, a220.fi, a229.dk, a230.se, a230.be, a230.dk, a230.fr, a230.pt, a235.uk, a240.es, a240.fi, a248.fr, t230.it, t235.fr, t240.dk, t240.no, t250.fr, t150.be, t260.se, t270.se, t270.nl, t280.nl, a309.fi, a320.no, a320.es, a320.pt, a320.it, a330.uk, a330.it, a330.pt, a339.be, a339.pt, a340.fi, a340.fr, a350.fr, </font><font class="compaq">S4090fr, S4200dk, S4200fi, S4200se, S4290fr, S4400se, S4500dk, S4500it, S4500uk, S4700uk, S5290it, S5295fr, S5298fr, S5300it, S5300nl, S5320es, S5350nl, S5390es, S5390fr, S5400it, S5500uk, S5590it, S5600se, S6400es</font>
</P>

<BR>
<p align="left">
<B>Maintenance and Service Guide:</B><BR>
None
</P>


<BR>
<p align="left">
<B>Retail Board:</B><BR>
This board is an OEM Asus A7N8X-LA.<br>
<i>No information avalible from Asus.</i>
</P>


<BR>

       <p align="left"><B>Notes:</B><BR>         The bios program has been altered to a Compaq specific version. It is not recommended to flash back to the original. If anyone does this successfully please notify us by <A HREF="../../contact.html">email</A>. </p>
<p align="left"> - <a href="http://www.s87841630.onlinehome.us/forum/viewtopic.php?t=223">Discuss this article</a></p>
</TD>
</TR>



</table>
</BODY>
</HTML>


I am also wanting to use the $meta_title code sitewide (talked about in another thread), but I cannot seem to figure out how to set it up.. In the other thread you talked about having yours wrapped in a function, etc... :? The way I have it on the pages already setup, I have to still manually change it on every page, which kind of defeats the purpose of the $meta_title code...

And I am a bit confused on how to utilize the a header include when part of what should be in the header file is at the top of the page and part of it is at the bottom...

ok enough for now, I am off to visit my mom!! Patrick PLEASE DO NOT WORRY ABOUT THIS NOW, this is an ongoing project and can wait til your feeling better...

Thanks
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby MoboCop » Fri Jan 28, 2005 8:27 am

The concept of header and footer files is simple. Here is the header for the new xhtml code.

Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

<html>
    <head>
        <title>Consumer Technical Information</title>
        <meta name="description" content="Your number one resource for Compaq and HP information." />
        <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"/>
        <meta name="keywords" content="Compaq, pc, computers, technical support, motherboards" />
        <meta name="author" content="Toby Bibeau" />
        <meta name="robots" content="All" />
        <link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/style_01.css" type="text/css" />
       
        <style type="text/css">
         @import "/css/layout_01.css";
      </style>
    </head>

    <body>

    <h1>FOCUS</h1>


Now anything in there you want to be dynamic you will need to insert php code with a variable. As follows.

Code: Select all
<?php echo meta_title; ?>


This would replace all the content between the title tags in the header.

Then in the calling page you would set the variable for the title of this page (yes you need to set this for every page because every page has a different title).

So your calling page would start out like this

Code: Select all
<?php
meta_title = "Consumer Technical Information";
include("header.php");
?>


Those two lines setup your title variable then call the header page.

After this you would have the body of your code for that page. The you would call the footer.

Code: Select all
<?php
include("footer.php");
?>


ok here is the footer code.

Code: Select all
<div>
        <p>-Your #1 Source For Compaq &amp; HP Info-</p>
    </div>

    <div>
        <?php
            echo date("F j, Y");
        ?>
    </div>

    <div>
        <p>Advertisement<br />
          <a href="http://www.motherboards.org/"><img src="/images/mbhwneedinfo.gif" height="60" width="468" alt="" /></a></p>
    </div>
   
    <div>
        <a href="/index.html" class="sidenav">Home</a> |
        <a href="/quickspecs/index.html" class="sidenav">Quickspecs</a> |
        <a href="/smatrix/index.html" class="sidenav">Serial Matrix</a> |
        <a href="/contact.html" class="sidenav">Contact Us</a> |
        <a href="/forum/index.php" class="sidenav">Forum</a> |
        <a href="/support.html" class="sidenav">Support and Drivers</a>
    </div>

    </body>
</html>


Again you will notice that we have the date code, the page header, and the menu code all in the footer. This is so this info is loaded last and the content is loaded first (good for search engines).

The last thing to do is the style sheets so that all of this code will look right. I will make another post or two shortly with the style sheets.
Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted - Albert Einstien
MoboCop
Drunken Master
 
Posts: 8854
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Fresno

Postby MoboCop » Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:03 am

ok here is the initial style sheets and an update to the footer code.

Footer (I added id tags for layout)

Code: Select all
<div id="layout_header">
        <p>-Your #1 Source For Compaq &amp; HP Info-</p>
    </div>

    <div id="layout_date">
        <?php
            echo date("F j, Y");
        ?>
    </div>

    <div id="layout_ad">
        <p>Advertisement<br />
          <a href="http://www.motherboards.org/"><img src="/images/mbhwneedinfo.gif" height="60" width="468" alt="" /></a></p>
    </div>
   
    <div id="layout_menu">
        <a href="/index.html">Home</a> |
        <a href="/quickspecs/index.html">Quickspecs</a> |
        <a href="/smatrix/index.html">Serial Matrix</a> |
        <a href="/contact.html">Contact Us</a> |
        <a href="/forum/index.php">Forum</a> |
        <a href="/support.html">Support and Drivers</a>
    </div>

    </body>
</html>


ok for the above code to work we need css2 file for layout. Here it is layout_01.css



Code: Select all
body {
   background-color: #FFFFFF;
   padding:          0px;
   padding-top:      150px;
}
html {
    padding: 0px;
}
html,body {
   height: 100%;
   width:  100%;
    margin: 0px;
}
#layout_header {
   position:         absolute;
   top:              0px;
   background-color: #8B0000;
   width:            100%;
   color:            white;
   padding:          5px;
}
#layout_date {
    position:         absolute;
   top:              0px;
   right:            0px;
   color:            white;
   padding:          5px;

}
#layout_ad {
    position:         absolute;
   top:              23px;
   margin-right:     auto;
   margin-left:      auto;
   background-color: #C0C0C0;
   width:            100%;
   padding-bottom:   5px;
   text-align:       center;
}
#layout_menu {
    position:         absolute;
   top:              105px;
    background-color: #8B0000;
   width:            100%;
   color:            white;
   padding:          5px;
   
}
#layout_menu a {
    color: white;
}


ok one more css file which is used for all the basic css setup and should be used for classes and such. style_01.css



Code: Select all
body {
    margin:             0;
    padding:            0;
    color:              #000;
    background-color:   #FFFFFF;
    font-size:          12px;
    font-family:        Tahoma, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    line-height:        1.1em
}

h1 {font-size: 16px; margin-top: 10px;font-weight: bold; margin-bottom: 10px;}
h2 {font-size: 14px; margin-top: 10px;margin-bottom: 10px;font-weight: bold}
h3 {font-size: 12px; margin: 3px 0px;font-weight: bold}
h4 {font-size: 10px; margin: 3px 0px;font-weight: bold}
h5 {font-size: 9px; margin: 3px 0px;font-weight: bold}
h6 {font-size: 8px; margin: 3px 0px;font-weight: bold}

p {
    margin: 0px;
    margin-top: 5px;
}

dt {
    font-weight: bold;
}

a {text-decoration: none; font-weight: bold; font-size: 12px; color: #0000FF; background-color: transparent; line-height: 1.2em}
a:hover {color: red; text-decoration: underline}

img {border: 0}

pre {border: 1px solid #000; background: #cfcfcf; padding: 15px}

hr {
   height: 1px;
   color: #000;
   background: inherit;
}


Both of these files are called already from the code I gave above in the header.

You can see an example of these files working here.

http://www.motherboards.org/toby_test.html

ok. I am going to stop for a bit and let you catch up. I recommend you setup a test page on your server somewhere to use to get this running.
Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted - Albert Einstien
MoboCop
Drunken Master
 
Posts: 8854
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Fresno

Postby Toby B. » Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:36 am

ok. I am going to stop for a bit and let you catch up. I recommend you setup a test page on your server somewhere to use to get this running.
Ok, will get going more on this later tonight after work...

Thanks a bunch!! :wink:
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Toby B. » Mon May 30, 2005 12:11 am

The concept of header and footer files is simple. Here is the header for the new xhtml code.

Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

<html>
    <head>
        <title>Consumer Technical Information</title>
        <meta name="description" content="Your number one resource for Compaq and HP information." />
        <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"/>
        <meta name="keywords" content="Compaq, pc, computers, technical support, motherboards" />
        <meta name="author" content="Toby Bibeau" />
        <meta name="robots" content="All" />
        <link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/style_01.css" type="text/css" />
       
        <style type="text/css">
         @import "/css/layout_01.css";
      </style>
    </head>

    <body>



Now anything in there you want to be dynamic you will need to insert php code with a variable. As follows.

Code: Select all
<?php echo meta_title; ?>


This would replace all the content between the title tags in the header.

Then in the calling page you would set the variable for the title of this page (yes you need to set this for every page because every page has a different title).

So your calling page would start out like this

Code: Select all
<?php
meta_title = "Consumer Technical Information";
include("header.php");
?>


Those two lines setup your title variable then call the header page.


Ok back for more help... I have mastered the meta_title trick, but I am now looking to do the same sort of thing with the actual meta tags (i.e. decription, author, etc.)...

Cant seem to find an answer..

Thanks
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby MoboCop » Tue May 31, 2005 6:08 am

well the answer is the same. Replace the content with a variable...

I guess I Am not sure exactly what you are asking.
Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted - Albert Einstien
MoboCop
Drunken Master
 
Posts: 8854
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Fresno

Postby Toby B. » Tue May 31, 2005 9:13 am

I guess I Am not sure exactly what you are asking.


For instantance...

Code: Select all
<titte><?php echo meta_title; ?></title>


Is used in the header include. And..

Code: Select all
<?php
meta_title = "Your Page Title Here";
include("header.php");
?>


Makes up the Title of the pages.

So would/could you do something like:

Code: Select all
<description><?php echo meta_title; ?></description>


Code: Select all
<?php
meta_title = "Your Page Title Here";
meta_description = "Your Page Description Here";
include("header.php");
?>


Hopefufully clarifies things a bit more...
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Previous

Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest