Noob programmer. Learning PHP, MySQL, Apache web development

Discuss all aspects of programming here.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Noob programmer. Learning PHP, MySQL, Apache web development

Postby Rabidwerewolf » Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:35 am

I've also wanted to learn web and web page development and programming, but I just never got off my duff to. I finally went out and bought a book after doing a little research, Beginning PHP, Apache, MySQL Web Development by wrox. From what I read at several PHP sites, this is a good, easy to understand and thorough book.

I do have a few questions and please feel free to give my any advice since the only programming I know, and I'm a little rusty at from not using it in awhile, is basic from high school and college years and years ago. Here are the questions:

1. Do I need to learn Java or any other html before I start learning PHP?

It doesn't that I need to right now, but since I'm new at this, I could be wrong.

2. Are there other books I should go out and get besides the one I purchased?

I know there is the PHP Bible which I plan on getting.

3. Besides www.php.net, www.mysql.com and www.netcraft.com, what are some other good web sites that would help me?

Again, any help or advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. This is probably going to development into something more than a hobby as I'm planning on going back to school either spring or summer of 2005 for a computer technology related field.
Rabidwerewolf
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Postby kltsin » Wed Oct 27, 2004 8:47 pm

Im in your boat, I am a junior admin (see my links) but I dont know crap about any of that.

Im the data guy. Even guys that were using mysql and asp saw php and saw what it can do were intrigued.

Your best bet would be to setup a local php and play with it.
java code is not needed. unless you want to develope a certain java app.

You need to understand how everything works first and go from there, tweak and tweak..