The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:04 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
I am finding out that my code that works well with the 5.2.x branch of PHP does NOT work the same with the 5.3.x branch. Happy Happy Joy Joy!!

Basically I have a my PC setup as a Local Webserver so I can test things out without blowing up my live site as much. Now I have to find a middle ground where things work on both since the live server will be updated at some point in the future.

The really annoying part is it's only a few bits of code and I am at this point completely lost on what to fix and how... I can see hours of banging my head against the desk in my future :(

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 7:39 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
http://php.net/releases/5_3_0.php for an idea, i'm pretty sure all changes are in there in detail and they give pointers on what to adjust in your code.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 5:17 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
don't see anything related to variables.

Quote:
Notice: Undefined variable: part_numbers in C:\www\common\board.tpl on line 173

Notice: Undefined variable: part_numbers in C:\www\common\board.tpl on line 175
Unknown


Code:
   
172 <td colspan="2">
173   <p><?php if ($part_numbers == true) {
174      echo ($part_numbers);
175 } else if ($part_numbers == false) {
176   echo "Unknown";}?></p></td>


several of the blocks have the _ in the variables but there are a couple that don't that act the same way on the test server. I have tried renaming the variables but even renames don't help if the variable = false.

Code:
       <p align="left"><b>Notes:</b><br>         <?php if ($Update == true) {
      echo ($Update);
} else if ($Update == false) {
   echo 'The bios program has been altered to a Compaq specific version. It is not recommended to flash back to the original. If anyone does this successfully please notify us by <a href="mailto:webmaster@ctechinfo.net">email</a>.';}?></p>


Quote:
Notice: Undefined variable: Update in C:\www\common\board.tpl on line 248

Notice: Undefined variable: Update in C:\www\common\board.tpl on line 250
The bios program has been altered to a Compaq specific version. It is not recommended to flash back to the original. If anyone does this successfully please notify us by email.


The above is whats going on with the test server. the live server has no issues with the broken code.

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:53 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
oddly enough I searched for what is usually related to databases (null/not_null)..

result = success on both test server and live server... :)

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: do NOT use 5.3.7!
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:25 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
https://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=55439

careful now!

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:25 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
Not quite sure how that fits in evasive...

Code:
   <td colspan="2">
   <p><?php if (isset($processors)) {
      echo ($processors);
} else {
   echo "Unknown";}?></p>   
   </td>
   </tr>


is how I changed the code so it work on both the old php and new..

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:52 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Just that you are running 5.3.x somewhere and should wait with upgrading.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:25 am 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14301
Location: Maine
evasive wrote:
Just that you are running 5.3.x somewhere and should wait with upgrading.
Its on my own system not accessible from outside my network.. :P

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group