Annoying behaviour of Outlook Express

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Post Reply
~PJ~
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 5791
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Leeds, UK

Annoying behaviour of Outlook Express

Post by ~PJ~ »

One laptop.
Two user accounts, each with their own email address, ie.
[email protected]
[email protected]alktalk.net

If the laptop is started in Joe's account, he can collect and send emails.
Ditto Mary.
If they switch users, the second user can collect emails, but if they then switch back to the first user and check emails, they get an error message - 'server mail.talktalk.net cannot be found' or something - the usual stuff.
Restarting the computer makes no difference - it has to be shut down and then booted up.

So I assume there's some conflict going on, but bothered if I know what.

Can anyone help us on this one, please?
TIA
[img]http://www.motherboards.org/sig/sig6/33258/Purplejulia77/sig.jpg[/img]

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.
User avatar
kokalo
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Downunder (NZ)

Post by kokalo »

Have you tried unticking the "download messages automatically" box and "hang up when finished" box?
[img]http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n272/napz-co-nz/kokalo-FS2b.jpg[/img][img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v317/sabrewings/fft.gif[/img]

P3! (No, not PIII)
~PJ~
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 5791
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Leeds, UK

Post by ~PJ~ »

kokalo wrote:Have you tried unticking the "download messages automatically" box and "hang up when finished" box?
I haven't tried anything yet, 'cos the machine's in Manchester...
How does the Remoter Assistance thing work? If I asked him to send a request does it mean that I can then monkey with the settings on his computer without going over there?
[img]http://www.motherboards.org/sig/sig6/33258/Purplejulia77/sig.jpg[/img]

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.
User avatar
kokalo
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Downunder (NZ)

Post by kokalo »

That is the way it is supposed to work, but I haven't tried it myself yet. Not sure how will it work over the internet though.
[img]http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n272/napz-co-nz/kokalo-FS2b.jpg[/img][img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v317/sabrewings/fft.gif[/img]

P3! (No, not PIII)
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37613
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

Slowish depending on what kind of connections either party has...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
~PJ~
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 5791
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Leeds, UK

Post by ~PJ~ »

We've both got broadband, so it may be OK. Will give it a try tomorrow.
[img]http://www.motherboards.org/sig/sig6/33258/Purplejulia77/sig.jpg[/img]

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.
User avatar
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Post by Hardware Junkie »

~PJ~ wrote:
kokalo wrote:Have you tried unticking the "download messages automatically" box and "hang up when finished" box?
I haven't tried anything yet, 'cos the machine's in Manchester...
How does the Remoter Assistance thing work? If I asked him to send a request does it mean that I can then monkey with the settings on his computer without going over there?

As long as he sends the invitation with his external IP. If he has a router or something in the way, it won't work.
Might be able to try the old version of MSN, but if you've upgraded to Windows Live Messenger, then it won't work either.
[i]"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier[/i]

[url=http://www.windowfarms.org/][img]http://homegrown.org/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/window-farm-iconic3-150x150.jpg[/img][/url]
~PJ~
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 5791
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Leeds, UK

Post by ~PJ~ »

Neither of us use Windows Live messenger - wouldn't touch it with a bargepole.
The entire system's fallen over now. After extensive tests and rebooting, come to the conclusion it has to be either the modem or the ISP, so waiting on developments.
[img]http://www.motherboards.org/sig/sig6/33258/Purplejulia77/sig.jpg[/img]

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.
~PJ~
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 5791
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Leeds, UK

Post by ~PJ~ »

Update;
He's has intermittent service since then - had to keep resetting the router over the phone... then the router gave up altogether, although he could still connect directly to the modem.
Got a new adsl router [same make as mine, although mine's just a router], and we cannot get it configured.
PITA.
I'm sure it's because Talktalk use weird settings - going back over tomorrow to have a proper fight with it [only so much you can do over the phone].
[img]http://www.motherboards.org/sig/sig6/33258/Purplejulia77/sig.jpg[/img]

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.
Post Reply