The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 2:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 8:20 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 3:54 am
Posts: 1062
Location: Midlands, UK
I'm using a wireless G router (USR8054) with several G devices. Also got a couple of B devices, so everything is currently running a B speeds :(

Someone suggested that if I introduce a B access point, then my B devices can communicate with the new access point at B speeds while my G devices can communicate with my G access point at G speeds.

Is this right? If so, how can I connect them so that everything is connected to my broadband connection? My USR router has 4 ethernet ports - can I run a B router off one of those ports, so I've effectively got both B and G speeds running at same time? Because that would rock.

Sounds cool, and B access points have got to be fairly cheap these days...?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 11:30 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 4:04 pm
Posts: 1451
Location: las vegas nevada
it really depends on the router models that have the WIFI points.
some do it no problem, some have issues.
heres a general break down of how you might want to set things up:
Cable / DSL modem to Grouter, then Grouter to Brouter connectected via cat5 or cat6 cables.
NOTE: you might need a crossover cable instead of standard patch cable. read the router documentation to see.
you might allso need to define a static rout on Brouter to look for the Grouter to get internet connectivity and see other clients {PCs} that are connected to Grouter.
you might allso need to define a static route on Grouter to look for clients that are connected to Brouter. it really depends on the routing protocol your routers are using.
the easiest thing to do is to call the router manufacturer tech support and try to get a hold of some one to walk you through the configuration. it should be all web based configuring with no telneting via console.
be sure to set differing network IDs {IP addressing}. EX:
Brouter
IP address: 192.168.50.1
subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Grouter
IP address: 192.168.100.1
subnetmask: 255.255.255.0
this way there is no mix ups with client configuration and IP spoofing.
hope this helps a little
good luck
AJ

_________________
coming soon to an over clockers dream near you:
EVGA 790i tri SLI
intel core2 quad 9550
6gb G.SKILL DDR3 16000
3X EVGA 8800gts video cards
water cooled fo sho
the rest when i get paid
PS... im gonna break 4ghz easily....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 2:21 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 3:54 am
Posts: 1062
Location: Midlands, UK
Excellent info - thanks mate. If I can find a USR B-router, that would be the way forward... And better yet, I've actually found a phone number for USR tech support (it wasn't easy!) so now I can phone them, rather than send an email to the black hole of "answers by email" support...

Nice one - thanks again!


Last edited by gutt3d on Fri Nov 26, 2004 2:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 2:47 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 3:54 am
Posts: 1062
Location: Midlands, UK
Found the device I was looking for. It's a "U.S.Robotics 2249 22Mbps Wireless Access Point".

Shockingly it actually costs about the same price as the 11g wireless access point and router that I'm currently using 8O

Dammit. I was hoping it would be a whole lot cheaper. Am now wondering if it is really worth it just to speed up file transfer within my network :(

I guess I'll phone USR tech support first to see what's involved - if it'll work, then maybe it's worth a shot...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:58 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 4:04 pm
Posts: 1451
Location: las vegas nevada
:wink:
AJ

_________________
coming soon to an over clockers dream near you:
EVGA 790i tri SLI
intel core2 quad 9550
6gb G.SKILL DDR3 16000
3X EVGA 8800gts video cards
water cooled fo sho
the rest when i get paid
PS... im gonna break 4ghz easily....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group