wireless router

Moderator: The Mod Squad

wireless router

Postby dallascisco » Tue Nov 16, 2004 7:20 pm

I am setting up a two computer network including one desktop and one laptop using wireless. The desktop is using an ethernet cable to connect to the linksys wrt54g wireless router. The cable service is not available right now but should come back by tomorrow.

My question is should the lack of an internet connection cause the 2 machines not to see each other on the network because they can't. The router has yet to establish an internet presence. I have verified that windows identifies the network hardware on both machines.

Any ideas?
dallascisco
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 1:01 am

Re: wireless router

Postby snap355 » Tue Nov 16, 2004 7:57 pm

dallascisco wrote:I am setting up a two computer network including one desktop and one laptop using wireless. The desktop is using an ethernet cable to connect to the linksys wrt54g wireless router. The cable service is not available right now but should come back by tomorrow.

My question is should the lack of an internet connection cause the 2 machines not to see each other on the network because they can't. The router has yet to establish an internet presence. I have verified that windows identifies the network hardware on both machines.

Any ideas?


What are the OSes? Can either machine ping one another and are both in the same workgroup? Secondly, the master browser PC needs to turned on for a while for both machines to actively participate in the workgroup environment
[url=http://www.motherboards.org/folding/index.html] Lend a hand and help with the folding project. Come join our 33258 team!

Image
[/url]
snap355
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9258
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: 33258

Postby kokalo » Wed Nov 17, 2004 1:05 am

Try setting up an "ad-hoc" network, until you get the connection going, just to check the hardware out.
But if the "inside" of the router (the wirelless access point) is set up properly you should not have a problem. Never used that particular router, but at work we've used 2 different DSL modem/WLAN router combo units, and even if theDSL was down, the wireless notebooks would still print through the print-server (PC hooked to the router/switch via Ethernet cable)
ImageImage

P3! (No, not PIII)
kokalo
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Downunder (NZ)

Postby dallascisco » Wed Nov 17, 2004 3:42 am

one is xp home and one is xp pro. I didn't do a whole lot of troubleshooting as I'll be back out there tonight. Both are part of the same workgroup.
dallascisco
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 1:01 am

Postby snap355 » Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:46 am

Oh to answer your question about the router, no it doesn't have to have an internet connection for the two machines to talk
[url=http://www.motherboards.org/folding/index.html] Lend a hand and help with the folding project. Come join our 33258 team!

Image
[/url]
snap355
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9258
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: 33258

Postby dallascisco » Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:51 am

I'm starting to think it is the laptop. After I left there cable internet came back and the desktop gets to the net fine. The laptop didn't
dallascisco
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 1:01 am

Postby snap355 » Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:53 am

dallascisco wrote:I'm starting to think it is the laptop. After I left there cable internet came back and the desktop gets to the net fine. The laptop didn't


Maybe bad NIC or worm or virus... sounds like maybe too much chattering
[url=http://www.motherboards.org/folding/index.html] Lend a hand and help with the folding project. Come join our 33258 team!

Image
[/url]
snap355
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9258
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: 33258

Postby Mark H » Fri Nov 19, 2004 4:24 pm

Check your wireless security settings. Make sure the MAC address of the laptop is allowed.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Istellabot [Crawler] and 1 guest