The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:26 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: wireless router
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 7:20 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 3595
I am setting up a two computer network including one desktop and one laptop using wireless. The desktop is using an ethernet cable to connect to the linksys wrt54g wireless router. The cable service is not available right now but should come back by tomorrow.

My question is should the lack of an internet connection cause the 2 machines not to see each other on the network because they can't. The router has yet to establish an internet presence. I have verified that windows identifies the network hardware on both machines.

Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: wireless router
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 7:57 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 9258
Location: 33258
dallascisco wrote:
I am setting up a two computer network including one desktop and one laptop using wireless. The desktop is using an ethernet cable to connect to the linksys wrt54g wireless router. The cable service is not available right now but should come back by tomorrow.

My question is should the lack of an internet connection cause the 2 machines not to see each other on the network because they can't. The router has yet to establish an internet presence. I have verified that windows identifies the network hardware on both machines.

Any ideas?


What are the OSes? Can either machine ping one another and are both in the same workgroup? Secondly, the master browser PC needs to turned on for a while for both machines to actively participate in the workgroup environment

_________________
[url=http://www.motherboards.org/folding/index.html] Lend a hand and help with the folding project. Come join our 33258 team!

Image
[/url]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 1:05 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: Downunder (NZ)
Try setting up an "ad-hoc" network, until you get the connection going, just to check the hardware out.
But if the "inside" of the router (the wirelless access point) is set up properly you should not have a problem. Never used that particular router, but at work we've used 2 different DSL modem/WLAN router combo units, and even if theDSL was down, the wireless notebooks would still print through the print-server (PC hooked to the router/switch via Ethernet cable)

_________________
ImageImage

P3! (No, not PIII)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 3:42 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 3595
one is xp home and one is xp pro. I didn't do a whole lot of troubleshooting as I'll be back out there tonight. Both are part of the same workgroup.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:46 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 9258
Location: 33258
Oh to answer your question about the router, no it doesn't have to have an internet connection for the two machines to talk

_________________
[url=http://www.motherboards.org/folding/index.html] Lend a hand and help with the folding project. Come join our 33258 team!

Image
[/url]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:51 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 3595
I'm starting to think it is the laptop. After I left there cable internet came back and the desktop gets to the net fine. The laptop didn't


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:53 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 9258
Location: 33258
dallascisco wrote:
I'm starting to think it is the laptop. After I left there cable internet came back and the desktop gets to the net fine. The laptop didn't


Maybe bad NIC or worm or virus... sounds like maybe too much chattering

_________________
[url=http://www.motherboards.org/folding/index.html] Lend a hand and help with the folding project. Come join our 33258 team!

Image
[/url]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 4:24 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Check your wireless security settings. Make sure the MAC address of the laptop is allowed.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group