Unknown ports are blocked? Cant connect to games/spyware upd

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Unknown ports are blocked? Cant connect to games/spyware upd

Postby p0ky » Fri Oct 01, 2004 11:05 am

I have no idea how to open these ports, I have tried takin off the xp fire wall still cant connect...this all happened since i got verizon dsl and they tell me they dont support gaming(wtf)
Windows XP Professional SP1
Samsung 2x 512 DDR memory PC3200
AMD Barton 3200+ @2.2ghz 9600XT ATI video card 128 MB
Samsung CD-Rw/DVD rom
80 GB WD
40 GB Maxtor @ 7200
Sony Floppy drive
Asus A7N8X-X
(stock fans total=4)
p0ky
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:22 pm

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Oct 01, 2004 12:30 pm

Could be two reasons. Either the DSL company is blocking the ports server side, or your DSL modem is doing it.
Or you have a router aswell that could be doing it.

What kind of network setup do you have? Post your hardware.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby snap355 » Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:14 am

Do you a port scan on your machine to see if it's open or not. Confirm with your DSL host that they are not blocking any specific ports.
snap355
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9258
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: 33258

Postby donut » Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:43 pm

If you have another machine you can download NMap and run a scan against your gaming machine. Try hooking your router/firewall or whatever else to your NMap machine, and scan the gaming machine. Even better, if possible, have a friend run it against your IP with your network configured normally. You can also do the "online" version at www.insecure.org which is where you can get the software version too. The "online" scans aren't nearly as reliable as a NMap done with the software, but even that's vastly more accurate than the simple stuff like GRC.com or Sygate's port scanners. Make sure you run through all the tests, though, and that you scan the port or port ranges used by your games as well as the "Well-Known Ports" i.e. ports below 1024.

BTW, Verizon does deposit spyware on your machine. I think Ad-Aware and/or SpyBot take care of it. If you don't currently use those programs, download them - they should be in every computer user's toolbox - but make sure you download them from www.lavasoft.de and www.safer-networking.net, respectively. There are lots of scam artists and malicious software vendors which attempt to mimic their sites and domain names. I don't think this would cause the problem with the games, but you never know.
donut
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 10:30 pm

Postby snap355 » Wed Oct 06, 2004 12:45 pm

Did you figure it out yet?
snap355
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9258
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: 33258


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest