Wireless - G Router

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Wireless - G Router

Postby warlow » Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:40 am

I have a Linksys Wireless - G Router and I thought that I could use this as part of my network
I am going to wireless in time for my whole network when I get all the cash together
My problem is can I use this as a network switch because at this time I have no broadband internet
The router has 4 Ethernet ports on the back and 1 broadband
Can I use this for my network to share files and printers that are on my wired network?
warlow
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2001 1:01 am

Postby dr_st » Sun Sep 26, 2004 11:36 am

Yes.
dr_st
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 11:18 pm
Location: Outworld

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun Sep 26, 2004 6:27 pm

That'd work fine. If you are on dial up, you should be able to use ICS with it aswell.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby snap355 » Mon Sep 27, 2004 1:00 pm

Yep. Just don't plug any home PCs into the broadband connection.
snap355
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9258
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: 33258

Postby warlow » Mon Sep 27, 2004 1:30 pm

Thanks guys i am just having problems with my network and i think it is 1 of my cables or 1 of my cards
warlow
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2001 1:01 am


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests