is it possible?

Moderator: The Mod Squad

is it possible?

Postby Ryn » Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:15 pm

hey guys, i'm planning to network my pc's here at home. i'm planning to buy this D-Link DI-624 wireless broadband router. i chose this coz i'm planning to buy a Wi-Fi enabled laptop. my question is, can i connect my pc's at home with this router using Cat5 instead of being wireless using an NIC? thanks for your help :)
Ryn
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4390
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 3:29 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Postby SnyperX » Sun Sep 26, 2004 12:12 am

I don't see why not, as long as it has the ports to connect via CAT5, I have my 4 pc's networked through my Netgear router to share files and printers.
P4 3.2 Prescott LGA-775
X600Pro PCI-E (not the best but cheap and decent)
Gigabyte GA-8I915P Duo-A
Geil UltraX 2-2-2-5 1gig Dual Channel
PSU
http://www.xpcgear.com/jaguar450psu.html
28a on the +12v
SnyperX
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1264
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:32 pm

Postby kokalo » Sun Sep 26, 2004 12:31 am

It has a WAN (Wide Area Network - your link to the outside world via cable/DSL/ISDN modem) port and 4 LAN ports, which means that you can connect up to 4 devices directly to it by using ethernet cable (CAT5/CAT5e/CAT6), such as PCs, network printers or switches/hubs/access points etc for further network distribution.
In addition to this you should generally be able to connect up to 253 devices to it wirelesly (0-255 gives 256, minus broadcast address (255), network address (0) and one for itself).
ImageImage

P3! (No, not PIII)
kokalo
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Downunder (NZ)

Postby Ryn » Sun Sep 26, 2004 6:50 am

thanks for the info there guys :wink:
Ryn
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4390
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 3:29 am
Location: Manila, Philippines


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron