The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:37 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 2:39 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 5:19 am
Posts: 90
i currently have two computers, the main computer is connected to cable internet...the two computers are networked and about 2 weeks ago i installed AlalogX Proxy and shared the internet between the 2 computers, it was working perfectly fine until about 3 days ago when the problem came up, the internet on the networked computer wont work....
i thought it was just the weather so i left it and tried the next and the next day and it still didnt work.....
i have checked the LAN settings on the networked computer with the IP set to the main computer and the port set to 6588.......
when i open the internet browser on the networked computer it displays a grey box with the words ...."unable to open cable.optusnet.com.................and so on"
i found the source of this problem, it is the norton firewall...
i disabled the firewall and the internet on the networked computer worked again, but still i dont know how to fix this problem..(i want to keep the firewall)
i think this problem first started when i used liveupdate to update the norton internet security.
someone please help me!!!!!!

regards,
philip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 2:24 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Check the blocked access rules and see if anything is listed.
You may have to remove Norton and then reinstall for everything to work again. Most likely it blocked access for Analog X

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 1:11 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 9258
Location: 33258
See here too
http://www.motherboards.org/forums/view ... hp?t=59979

Even if you disabled Norton, somehow the rules are still in effect. You basically have to uninstall Norton and reinstall without liveupdates.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group