The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:40 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 1:00 am
Posts: 526
am setting up asdl modem router for a customer, only done one before. have put free zonealarm on the machine to give some xtra security. getting the following alert message/messages coming up and just wanted to know whether or not zonealrm is blocking legit activity here or whether i need to chage settings to allow this traffic through.

message is

The firewall has blocked internet access to your computer (netbios Session) from Wendy-********* ( 192.168.0.40 TCP Port 32153212/3213/3215 ( and others similar) TCP Flag s

visiting the zonealarm website has not cleared the situation up.

cheers
darrellw


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:32 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
You have to open some ports on your router for Zone Alarm (atleast that is what it looks like).

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 1:23 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 1:00 am
Posts: 526
cheers for the reply, so do i want to allow Netbios in the applied rules section of the access control section in the d-link router setup

cheers
darrellw


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 2:40 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 1:00 am
Posts: 526
still getting the messages but also found out that zonealarm seems to be causing a number of links/pages not to load. was having problems then shutdown zonealarm and all the links/pages loaded straight away.
is this a router setting problem or is it something that needs changing in zonealarm itself?????????/

cheers
darrellw


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 12:36 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 9258
Location: 33258
darrellw wrote:
still getting the messages but also found out that zonealarm seems to be causing a number of links/pages not to load. was having problems then shutdown zonealarm and all the links/pages loaded straight away.
is this a router setting problem or is it something that needs changing in zonealarm itself?????????/

cheers
darrellw


It's a zone alarm problem. From the IP of Wendy, it looks it's a local machine trying to get to your machine, which you should allow if Wendy wants to print or access files for example. If not, someone is spoofing the local IP and then the router is a bad router which it should have caught that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group