comcast and ps2 trojan problems

Moderator: The Mod Squad

comcast and ps2 trojan problems

Postby mez361 » Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:58 pm

Hi all, hope someone can help with this its driveing me nutts. I built a machine for my Daughter and heres my problem. She has Comcast cable works fast... hooked up a router Linksys BEFSR41 so they could run Playstation 2 and surf the net at the same time. Have the Asus A7N8X deluxe board with PC-cillin virus software installed and up to date. I've set it up twice now with Windows Xp home. Told them to be very careful where they surf and what mail they open. After the first time I blocked access to half a dozen porn sites through the virus scanner...helped! I think that a trojan was unloaded through mail. This time I noticed some deleted files and asked them whats up they knew nothing.....files deleted Word 2000, Adaware6, and spyboot. Heres the wild card and probley the major problem, they downloaded Keylime..(Kazza) program. With all these things going on could PS2 networked with PC be letting things in? Is it a problem with HSP internet or Keylime? Is there something I could set up different? Thanks for any help, you people have helped me so much and I know I can count on good advice this time. Thanks again, Mike
mez361
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 12:01 am
Location: PA.

Postby Copper » Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:57 pm

files deleted Word 2000, Adaware6, and spyboot


i would say these were maually deleted, to allow Kassa to be install. Kassa is known to be full of scumware

i would do a comple clean install on the pc, as this would be the easyest workround for your problem

i never known a PS2 and PC or an Xbox and PC network to cause problems
"Only two thing are infinite, the universe and human stupidity,and Im not sure about the former." Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)
Copper
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 8640
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:38 pm
Location: Midlands UK

Postby snap355 » Thu Sep 23, 2004 12:45 pm

Looks like the best option is to reformat and reinstall Windows. Also try using Norton internet security as a preventative measure instead of pc-cillin
snap355
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9258
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Location: 33258

Postby Hardware Junkie » Thu Sep 23, 2004 3:55 pm

So basically the system still boots up but the major apps are MIA. Very common. I've run into that here at work a few times.

You are going to want to burn a copy of Spybot 1.3 and the latest includes to disk. Plus a copy of Hijack This or BHO Daemon (can be found through Google.com).
CWS Shredder might be another good one.

Go into Safe Mode and load up all those apps and get rid of all the junk.
Then go into MSCONFIG and remove anything that might be an issue.
Then run a virus scan.

Should clean up the junk. You are prolly going to have to reload the old apps.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 1 guest

cron