The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 6:02 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 1:02 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 213
Location: West midlands UK
hello there guys, i am having rediculous problems with my network connection. i am using a crossover cable connected to a laptop (slave) and my main (host) broadband pc with NIC. the problem is i have not (at all) been able to access shared files/folders on the other pc, in 'my network places' the only folders are the ones on that pc i.e. on host the only folder is shared docs on host. i have tinkered with settings for auto detect and manual with no change what so ever. does anyone know what im doing wrong? i have managed to get these linked before straight forward, im stuck.
thanks for looking
jake

_________________
MSI K8T800
amd Athlon 4000+
2gig DDR
500gb Hitatchi SATA
80gb max PM
Pioneer 115D PS
ATI x1650


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 1:07 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 213
Location: West midlands UK
hi again
just tried 'ping'
the host pc got replies for itself and the laptop, the laptop got a reply for itself and not the host.
what does this mean?
cheers
jake

_________________
MSI K8T800
amd Athlon 4000+
2gig DDR
500gb Hitatchi SATA
80gb max PM
Pioneer 115D PS
ATI x1650


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 1:34 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 11:18 pm
Posts: 2191
Location: Outworld
I hate when this stuff happens (i.e. network that only works one way from some reason). Usually I just tinker around with the settings until it's gone (and it is gone eventually). I reboot, run the wizard, reboot again, etc. Eventually it starts working.

Anyway, can you post the IPCONFIG output for both machines? You can do it by typing IPCONFIG >IP.TXT from the command prompt and then posting the contents of the IP.TXT file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 6:38 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 213
Location: West midlands UK
thanks for the reply dr_st
this is the Windows IP Configuration
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2: (broadband)
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 82.37.192.232
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 82.37.192.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3: (NIC to laptop)
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection: (laptop to NIC)
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

hope this means something to you, i aint got a clue,
from the tiny bits i have picked up, the numbers look right.
i look forward to you advice
jake

_________________
MSI K8T800
amd Athlon 4000+
2gig DDR
500gb Hitatchi SATA
80gb max PM
Pioneer 115D PS
ATI x1650


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 7:14 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 213
Location: West midlands UK
ok, i have rebooted, run the network wizard again, changing some of the variables, eg, computer name, workgroup name etc. i am now able to access the shared folders and other items on the laptop from the host (main pc), but im unable to access the files and folders/items on the main pc from the laptop,
what have i missed?
cheers
jake

_________________
MSI K8T800
amd Athlon 4000+
2gig DDR
500gb Hitatchi SATA
80gb max PM
Pioneer 115D PS
ATI x1650


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 10:51 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 11:18 pm
Posts: 2191
Location: Outworld
Yeah, the numbers look OK. Does the ping to the host still not work on the laptop? I see you have posted another message about the ZoneAlarm. Was ZoneAlarm enabled all this time? It can block connection, if not configured properly.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 12:18 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 384
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
If you are running Win XP make sure you have the ICF (Internet Connection Firewall) disabled. It can stop you from sharing files.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 5:49 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
MrMozart wrote:
If you are running Win XP make sure you have the ICF (Internet Connection Firewall) disabled. It can stop you from sharing files.


File and Printer Sharing has to be enabled aswell.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 4:10 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 213
Location: West midlands UK
hello all, thank you for your replies,
the ICF is disabled as is Zonealarm (which is installed on laptop and desktop). file and printer sharing is enabled on both also. im able to share any file/folder from the laptop, which instantly shows up on the desktop pc, but same is not true vice versa.
is there a setting in
'my computer ----> manage ----> services and applications'?
just a thought.
cheers
jake

_________________
MSI K8T800
amd Athlon 4000+
2gig DDR
500gb Hitatchi SATA
80gb max PM
Pioneer 115D PS
ATI x1650


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 6:01 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Are they both on the same workgroup?
Unique computer names?

If you are using Windows ME or 98 in any of the machines, make sure Client for MS Networks, an Ethernet Adapter, and TCP/IP for that adapter are all installed.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group