The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Dec 06, 2019 8:56 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:48 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
One laptop.
Two user accounts, each with their own email address, ie.
joebloggs@talktalk.net
marybloggs@talktalk.net

If the laptop is started in Joe's account, he can collect and send emails.
Ditto Mary.
If they switch users, the second user can collect emails, but if they then switch back to the first user and check emails, they get an error message - 'server mail.talktalk.net cannot be found' or something - the usual stuff.
Restarting the computer makes no difference - it has to be shut down and then booted up.

So I assume there's some conflict going on, but bothered if I know what.

Can anyone help us on this one, please?
TIA

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:49 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: Downunder (NZ)
Have you tried unticking the "download messages automatically" box and "hang up when finished" box?

_________________
ImageImage

P3! (No, not PIII)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 4:28 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
kokalo wrote:
Have you tried unticking the "download messages automatically" box and "hang up when finished" box?


I haven't tried anything yet, 'cos the machine's in Manchester...
How does the Remoter Assistance thing work? If I asked him to send a request does it mean that I can then monkey with the settings on his computer without going over there?

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:40 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: Downunder (NZ)
That is the way it is supposed to work, but I haven't tried it myself yet. Not sure how will it work over the internet though.

_________________
ImageImage

P3! (No, not PIII)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 9:02 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37572
Location: Netherlands
Slowish depending on what kind of connections either party has...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 2:55 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
We've both got broadband, so it may be OK. Will give it a try tomorrow.

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 1:33 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
~PJ~ wrote:
kokalo wrote:
Have you tried unticking the "download messages automatically" box and "hang up when finished" box?


I haven't tried anything yet, 'cos the machine's in Manchester...
How does the Remoter Assistance thing work? If I asked him to send a request does it mean that I can then monkey with the settings on his computer without going over there?



As long as he sends the invitation with his external IP. If he has a router or something in the way, it won't work.
Might be able to try the old version of MSN, but if you've upgraded to Windows Live Messenger, then it won't work either.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 2:37 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
Neither of us use Windows Live messenger - wouldn't touch it with a bargepole.
The entire system's fallen over now. After extensive tests and rebooting, come to the conclusion it has to be either the modem or the ISP, so waiting on developments.

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:48 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
Update;
He's has intermittent service since then - had to keep resetting the router over the phone... then the router gave up altogether, although he could still connect directly to the modem.
Got a new adsl router [same make as mine, although mine's just a router], and we cannot get it configured.
PITA.
I'm sure it's because Talktalk use weird settings - going back over tomorrow to have a proper fight with it [only so much you can do over the phone].

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group