My Network Quit Working

Moderator: The Mod Squad

My Network Quit Working

Postby MrMozart » Mon Sep 06, 2004 6:06 am

I have 2 computers, both running WinXP Pro. They are connected to a LinkSys BEFSR41 Router. I had to reinstall Windows on Computer 2 and now I can't get my network running again. I have ran the Network Wizard on both machines. Computer 2 shows both Computer 1 & 2 in My Network Places, but I can't access Computer 1. I can ping Computer 2 from Computer 2, but not Computer 1. I am pretty sure the problem is Computer 1. I ran the Network Wizard on Computer 1, but when I try to access Network Computers I get a message that MSHOME isn't accessable. I didn't change anything on Computer 1, I don't what happened. Help Please :?
MrMozart
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Postby Hardware Junkie » Mon Sep 06, 2004 8:26 am

First check to make sure you are both on the same network. In this case MSHOME. Go to Control Panel and System - Computer Name should be different, but the WORKGROUP has to be the same.

After that, check to make sure the IP addresses are the same type coming from the router. Something like 192.168.X.X
You can do this by typing IPCONFIG /ALL at the command line.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby MrMozart » Mon Sep 06, 2004 1:19 pm

Both computers are on MSHOME and the router is giving each an IP address of 192.168.X.X For some reason I can't access MSHOME on Computer 1 When I click on My Network Places and click on View Network Computers, I get the message that MSHOME is not accessable. On Computer 2 I can view both computers, but not access Computer 1. Very strange!
MrMozart
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Postby Hardware Junkie » Mon Sep 06, 2004 2:10 pm

Can you surf on both machines?
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby MrMozart » Mon Sep 06, 2004 2:15 pm

Yes I can. The Internet works fine.
MrMozart
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Postby Hardware Junkie » Mon Sep 06, 2004 2:20 pm

File and Printer Sharing enabled on both machines?
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby MrMozart » Mon Sep 06, 2004 3:05 pm

I just happened to think, what about ICF. I looked at the properties of the local area connection and found that the ICF was enabled. I disabled it and my network is up. I know had it disabled before. I hate ICF and wish I could get rid of it permanently. Thanks for your help :D
MrMozart
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2002 12:01 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Postby Hardware Junkie » Mon Sep 06, 2004 3:08 pm

That was going to be my next thought.
Good job.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 3 guests