Home net security question

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Home net security question

Postby Smurfcorpse » Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:50 am

I have 3 networked computers that share one dial-up to get to the outside world. To share the dial-up the XP box assigns the IP addresses to the other 2 computers. Can I tell my XP box what range and subnet mask I want it to use? Or does the subnet mask do that. The IP addresses assigned are like 192.168.blah blah blah. I'd like to use something less obvious. So I'd like to tell XP what range of addresses it can assign. A how-to link or any information will be appreciated.
Image
It's always funny until someone loses an Operating System!
Smurfcorpse
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 1:01 am
Location: NY

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun Sep 05, 2004 10:15 am

192.168 is the private address range used by home networks, switching it to something else may confuse the router (xp machine) if it finds a similar address on the internet. There are others you can use though.

Problem is, you most likely have used the Network Configuration Wizard to get the internet connection sharing to work on the various PCs. I am not sure how to alter the IP addresses, without screwing up the setup.

Last time I did it manually, the internet connection no longer worked.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Comp_parter » Fri Sep 10, 2004 5:41 pm

private ip address ranges can also be

10.0.0.x
255.0.0.0

172.16.x.x
255.255.0.0

whatever you want on the inside is up to you. you would have to make a route from the private to public... never have used network wizard but have thrown a few networks together

so try this

internet connection:
172.16.1.1
255.255.255.0

host 1:
172.16.1.2
255.255.255.0

host 2:
172.16.1.3
255.255.255.0

notice that all subnets are the same, this is key!!!!

these three hosts now are all apart of the same private network,
like hardware junkie said might not work with windows but...
it would work in a cisco router...
Comp_parter
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Troy, Ohio

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Sep 10, 2004 6:44 pm

Comp_parter wrote:private ip address ranges can also be

10.0.0.x
255.0.0.0

172.16.x.x
255.255.0.0

whatever you want on the inside is up to you. you would have to make a route from the private to public... never have used network wizard but have thrown a few networks together

so try this

internet connection:
172.16.1.1
255.255.255.0

host 1:
172.16.1.2
255.255.255.0

host 2:
172.16.1.3
255.255.255.0

notice that all subnets are the same, this is key!!!!

these three hosts now are all apart of the same private network,
like hardware junkie said might not work with windows but...
it would work in a cisco router...


Thx for posting those - could not remember off hand (and too lazy to look online).
I just know that the Network Configuration Manager uses 192.168 addresses when it does its config, you may not have as much luck if you try to manually input the settings.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron