Total Newbie - Setting up pc to pc network with xover cable

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Total Newbie - Setting up pc to pc network with xover cable

Postby jimmylad007 » Sat Sep 04, 2004 2:52 am

Hi. I am a total newbie at networking, this is my first attempt. I need to link a deskop to a laptop. I have a crossover cable. I can get as far as it saying local area connection connected etc, and from the laptop I can see both PCs. (Though I cannot access the other PC's files). From the other pc, I cannot see the other computer. I need to know how to set it up to share files only. All I need it for is file transfers. Thanks.
jimmylad007
Green Belt
Green Belt

Postby dr_st » Sat Sep 04, 2004 3:29 am

I'm gonna try to explain it from the beginning, so you may find that you have already taken some of these steps.

First of all, which operating system is on both machines?

If both runs Windows XP, you should simply run the network setup wizard on both machines, answer the wizard's question according to your network, and it should work (sometimes you may need to reboot both machines to have the network settings take effect).

If only one of the machines runs Windows XP and the other runs Win9x, you run the network setup wizard on that machine. In the end it will suggest you to create a network setup floppy to run the wizard on the machine that runs Win9x. You take that floppy and run the wizard (Netsetup.exe) on the other PC.

I must admit that I am not sure whether Win2K needs the floppy to run the wizard or not.

Setting up global file sharing is not difficult either. From the PC whose files you want to share, go to "My Computer". Select the hard disk, go to "Properties", then "Sharing". There you should find all the options you need to share the entire hard disk and also to allow the other PC to modify your files.

This should get you started, if something is not clear enough, feel free to ask.
dr_st
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree