not-so-random ping spiking

Moderator: The Mod Squad

not-so-random ping spiking

Postby Roach412 » Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:25 pm

current setup:
netgear 8 port hub, with anywhere from 1 to 4 computers on it
motorola surfboard sb5100 cable modem

problem is this, while playing any ping-displaying game (i.e. UT, UT2003, counterstrike...) pings will go at ~60ms for about 4 seconds, then jump to ~500ms for a second, then go back down to ~60ms. this goes on systematically... 4 seconds good, then 1 bad, then 4 good, then 1 bad. over and over.

anybody got any clues on this one? even if i run only 1 pc on the hub it'll still do it (pulled out all other cabling).

wondering if anyone had run into something similar in the past? cable modem setting?(although i can't see any way to change it) known downstream cable fix that i could tell my providor? anything?

-Roach
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Postby S33K3R » Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:36 am

post system specs
S33K3R
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2466
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 3:18 am

sys spec

Postby Roach412 » Tue Aug 31, 2004 1:16 pm

ye ol' aging system... :(

tyan s2266
p4 1.7 400fsb
256mb ddr-266
winxp pro
ati radeon 9600pro
sb live
40gbx2 7200rpm WD
linksys lne100tx(v5)

netgear en108tp hub

this problem also occurs on my roommate's brand new pc, although i don't know his specs.

-Roach
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Postby S33K3R » Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:38 pm

could be a connection issue with isp or the load on the same line at the same time, hard to tell.
any other programs running in the background?
could also be some emi causing problems near the cable line
make sure you have windows up to date inlcuding directx and video drivers
S33K3R
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2466
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 3:18 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:45 pm

Well first and foremost, I would trade up the hub for a switch or a router (/w switching). That'll cut down on the amount of useless traffic going back and forth.

Another issue could be the NIC cards in use. Some perform better than others. If anyone is using a SIS 900 based ethernet adapter (usually onboard) that would definately slow things down.
In a hub type environment, one slow card can slow the entire network down.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests