The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:09 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:42 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2348
Location: Capital District Area, NY
For the past hour or so I've been trying to troubleshoot this problem.

It started when I was searching the net like usual. In the background I was running F@H like usual. When ever I need to search a lot I will pause it. Because it tends to stall my browser: SeaMonkey
If that doesn't fix the issue, I'll close down my browser. Once the resources level off, I restart it.
This the browser failed to return. I usually keep 4-6 tabs open for confidence. But they were all gone.
Now my browser won't connect. It shows a connect, but nothing is loading. I am typing this post using my tablet that is connecting. I tried resetting the modem, router, antivirus scans. All with no luck.

I plan to try my ISP asap, because this issue happened before. That time I needed to get another modem from them. A forget if my tablet connected when it happened then.

How can I fix this issue? I need to find out asap, so I can figure out if I need another modem, or a PC setting
Is messed up.

Trouble shooting a PC using a tablet is a real pita, but its this or nothing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:36 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2348
Location: Capital District Area, NY
After a bit of searching I found a fix:

Start / CMD
Run as Admin

ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /registerdns
netsh windsock reset
netsh int ip reset reset.log

restart PC

Internet works on PC again.


Don't know what happened before, just glad it's fixed. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:18 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
what happened? windows. that happened. for no apparent reason it will cr*p itself in almost any area after some time. frequent reboots will help. if you try to keep your system up to date that will happen automatically :P

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group