Resource (DNS Server) not responding?

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Resource (DNS Server) not responding?

Postby BIGMAN131307 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:14 am

For the past two days my internet has when out. But both times my modem was connected fine.

While checking settings I seen the message:

Resource (DNS Server) not responding?

Both days I was able to get my internet working after unplugging and replugging my modem and router.

What is causing this problem, and how do I prevent it from happening again?

My current Ethernet Status is:

Connection
IPv4 Connectivity: Internet
IPv6 Connectivity: No network access
Media State: Enabled
Duration: 00:27:13 and counting up
Speed: 100.0 Mbps

Activity
Bytes: Sent - 9,010,928 | Received - 118,869,779


What, if any settings do I need to change?

Win10
Mozilla SeaMonkey
Mozilla FireFox
BIGMAN131307
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2319
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Capital District Area, NY

Re: Resource (DNS Server) not responding?

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Jun 07, 2017 7:14 am

Possibly a very brief power 'blip' of 1/2 second or so. Can corrupt the IPA and other settings. Unplugging for about 15 seconds does a hard "reset". Same can happen to almost any electronic device, like a microwave or other appliance. Even a computer can restart or become unresponsive.
The 'blip' could be from a very brief loss of AC power, or a heavy surge from some nearby power hungry equipment.
The effect is more probable when power lines are lightly loaded. Less so with heavier current use on the mains.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Resource (DNS Server) not responding?

Postby Roach412 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 11:32 am

I have my modem and router both plugged into a power strip which is connected to a digital timer. At 4:30am each day the timer is set to turn off and back on after 1 minute - ever since I've done this I've never had intermittent or odd behavior from either of the two devices.

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Re: Resource (DNS Server) not responding?

Postby BIGMAN131307 » Thu Jun 08, 2017 7:04 am

:( Sorry, but that doesn't help me.

The same thing just happened. :(
I checked the Ethernet Status / Network Connection Details:

Lease Obtained
Lease Expires

Were both wrong. I think they listed June 6 or 7th.


But now after I got my interest connected. By unplugging both my router & modem powercords for a few seconds. I plugged them both in, waited for my modem to reconnect.

Now when I checked the Ethernet Status / Network Connection Details:

Lease Obtained Thursday, June 8, 2017 10:10:34 AM
Lease Expires Friday, June 9, 2017 10:10:34 AM


What is causing the lease to not refresh properly?
How do I fix this problem?

The only change recently to my computer was a Win10 update a couple days ago.
BIGMAN131307
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2319
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Capital District Area, NY

Re: Resource (DNS Server) not responding?

Postby Roach412 » Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:06 am

so are you saying your dates/times are wrong? then you need to make adjustments in your router to get the correct date and time (either set manually or set it to retrieve from the internet if your model allows it).

if you wanted, you could also extend your lease time.

also, you could simply provide your machine with a static IP and not worry about the DHCP problem at all.

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Re: Resource (DNS Server) not responding? (fixed)

Postby BIGMAN131307 » Fri Jun 09, 2017 11:24 am

Well after a call and trip to TWC :( Spectrum, the problem is fixed *knocking on wood*

Seems like the modem I had was conking out. So I got another modem from them. It's a Ubee, any thoughts on them?

It looks like this one: http://www.ubeeinteractive.com/products ... able-modem

For now it seems to have fixed my problem. :)
BIGMAN131307
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2319
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Capital District Area, NY

Re: Resource (DNS Server) not responding?

Postby Roach412 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:49 am

Never used that brand before - so, no help from my end. :?

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Re: Resource (DNS Server) not responding?

Postby evasive » Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:14 pm

They are used by one of the bigger ISPs in here. So-so for operation, not happy about the building quality. But then again, they're freebies with the contract...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Resource (DNS Server) not responding?

Postby Mr T » Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:43 am

Any modem/router from an ISP is usually always cheap c**p. I always use a decent 3rd party one due to the volume of network traffic in the household and the ability to easily manipulate and lock/secure the network. I budget at about £100 at least for a router and all the ones I have bought have been fine (I of course avoid Netgear and D-link junk)... And of course the 3rd party router must have an inbuilt gigabit switch and dual band wifi...
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17093
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest