Replacing a cable modem? Problem needs help.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Replacing a cable modem? Problem needs help.

Postby BIGMAN131307 » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:11 am

I'm trying to decide if I should upgrade or replace my cable modem.

The one I'm using now is provided by TWC: Motorola SB5101 Surfboard Cable Modem

It works fine, but I would like to save on the leasing fee. So I was thinking of replacing it with my own Motorola SB5101 Surfboard Cable Modem which I used before I moved.
I would have been using it already, but it wouldn't register for my account. :( The modem was previously used with a family members account when I lived with them. It's been over 5+
years since that family member (past away) had a TWC account. Should I be able to register my modem now?

Or would I be better off with one of their other preferred modems? Which one?

Cable Modems:

Motorola SB6121, modem only, IPv6 ready
Firmware version - 1.0.6.8-SCM01

Motorola SB6141, modem only, IPv6 ready
Firmware version - SB_KOMODO-1.0.6.14-SCM01

Motorola SBG6580, modem & WiFi, IPv6 ready
Firmware version - SBG6580-6.5.2.0-GA-06-077-NOSH

Motorola SBG6782AC, modem & WiFi, IPv6 ready
Firmware version - SBG6X82-8.5.0.0-GA-05-15-NOSH

ARRIS/Motorola SB6183, modem only, IPv6 ready
Firmware version - 9.2.0.0-GA-03-29-NOSH

As I think of this even more the old saying "If It Isn't Broke, Don't Fix It" comes to mind. :?

What would you do?
Stick with what's working?
Give there's back, replace with mine?
Give there's back, get a new one?
Last edited by BIGMAN131307 on Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BIGMAN131307
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2316
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Capital District Area, NY

Re: Replacing a cable modem?

Postby Roach412 » Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:26 pm

yours will work - you will just need to call in your physical address on it so that they can register it on their end. only registered hardware will connect with their network correctly.

i used to have those surfboards as well - but TWC in my area only allows DOCSIS 3.0 modems. yours is a 2.0, and isn't allowed here. :x

currently i use their provided SB6141...which they just started charging rental for - so i'll probably be buying my own and replacing it (pays itself off in 1 year).

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Re: Replacing a cable modem?

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Jan 28, 2015 4:55 pm

Very important, that set "address" and class of operation. An older decoder may work with some CATV systems, but the newer decoders cover more frequency bands. While most CATV providers work with the same channel lineups, some are different.
But the FCC has mandated that if a newer TV has a built-in decoder that is compatible to the CATV provider, its use is preferred over the company's device.
Want to see what frequencies are used for radio, TV, CATV, and other services? Big listing!!
http://www.tvtower.com/Commercial%20Tel ... ncies.html
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20662
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Replacing a cable modem? Problem

Postby BIGMAN131307 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:00 pm

This modem needs to go.

Recently my current TWC provided modem has been more flakier than usual. :(

For the past couple weeks it has been dropping it's signal. For at little as a few minutes, to a few hours at a time. :(
During storms, or other bad weather it is understandable. But it has been getting sickening lately. After my last round
with TWC tech support, they suggested to replace my cable modem. I do have my own I can swap out, but it is the same model as the TWC modem. So that wont fix the problem. So I need a newer model.

I will be returning their Motorola SB5101 SURFboard Cable modem

TWC website lists compatible cable modems from varies manufacturers.

Arris
Arris/Motorola:
Cisco/Scientific Atlanta
Technicolor/Thomson/RCA
Toshiba
Ubee/Ambit

Which of those Cable Modems would work well for me?? I currently have TWC Standard Internet, but I may upgrade down the road.

Ulitimate DL(Up to 50Mbps) UL(Up to 5Mbps)
Extreme DL(Up to 30Mbps) UL(Up to 5Mbps)
Turbo DL(Up to 20Mbps) UL(Up to 2Mbps)
Standard DL(Up to 15Mbps) UL(Up to 1Mbps)

I am interested in Cable Internet Modems, NOT WiFi Modems or Modem/Router Combos.

These three modems seem to be popular. Does TWC use these in my area? If so, how well do these modems work? Is there any issues with them? Which one would be the best for long term use? 5,7,10 yrs?

ARRIS / Motorola SB6190 SURFBoard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem
ARRIS / Motorola SB6183 SURFBoard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem
ARRIS / Motorola SB6141 SURFBoard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Please help me figure out which modem to choose. I plan on picking it up tomorrow at my local TWC.
BIGMAN131307
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2316
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Capital District Area, NY

Re: Replacing a cable modem? Problem needs help.

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:52 am

First I would check that all cable connections are good and snug, not overly tight.
Then I would 'reset' the modem (user interface) by unplugging for about 15 seconds, then plug in again. Minor power glitches can cause corrupt IPA and interconnection data.
The compatibility of CATV modems is priority info of the providers, and may not be available to the public.
One user on the service can get full bandwidth and speed, but if two users, then each would get only about half service.
Whatever package offers the best data speed vs. cost is a general rule. But why go 'bargain' level, then upgrade later at more expense?
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20662
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Replacing a cable modem? Problem needs help.

Postby BIGMAN131307 » Mon Jan 16, 2017 11:14 am

I've been there, done that too many times. I've had TWC SB5101 for ten years, and mine before that for at least three.

So far I have been seeing these three mentioned:

ARRIS / Motorola SB6190 SURFBoard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (newer, but some issues)
ARRIS / Motorola SB6183 SURFBoard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (current reliable)
ARRIS / Motorola SB6141 SURFBoard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (older reliable)

Are all of these good choices for my next cable modem?

FTTB I'll be using the one TWC provides. I just like to know which I could possibly ask for at TWC retail store.

Are there any other good choices?
BIGMAN131307
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2316
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Capital District Area, NY


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest