The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:37 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2010 9:53 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 11
Problem: Cannot connect to the internet (either a router or computer program, that's what i'm here to find out) :P

Also, it doesn't seem to recognize any wireless connections either. I sometimes uninstall my network adapter, restart my computer and let the network adapter reinstall. This worked the first few couple of times.

However, it stopped working.

When i open cmd.exe and type in ipconfig, i notice that it has a different ipaddress, my current (working) one displays

(working) displays:
ipv4 address: 192.168.2.2
subnet mask: 255.255.0.0
default gateway: 192.168.2.1

laptop (not working) displays::
autoconfiguration ipv4 address: 169.254.34.136
subnet mask: 255.255.0.0


i do notice it says "autoconfiguration ipv4", could it be there's something in need of a change?

also, i took my time to make a whois check up on the ip, weird stuff. . .

http://cqcounter.com/whois/

Quote:
OrgName: Internet Assigned Numbers Authority
OrgID: IANA
Address: 4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 330
City: Marina del Rey
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 90292-6695
Country: US

NetRange: 169.254.0.0 - 169.254.255.255
CIDR: 169.254.0.0/16
NetName: LINKLOCAL-RFC3927-IANA-RESERVED
NetHandle: NET-169-254-0-0-1
Parent: NET-169-0-0-0-0
NetType: IANA Special Use
NameServer: BLACKHOLE-1.IANA.ORG
NameServer: BLACKHOLE-2.IANA.ORG
Comment: This is the "link local" block. It was set
Comment: aside for this special use in the Standards
Comment: Track document, RFC 3927 and was further
Comment: documented in the Best Current Practice
Comment: RFC 5735, which can be found at:
Comment: http://www.rfc-editor.org/rfc/rfc3927.txt
Comment: http://www.rfc-editor.org/rfc/rfc5735.txt
Comment: It is allocated for communication between hosts
Comment: on a single link. Hosts obtain these addresses
Comment: by auto-configuration, such as when a DHCP
Comment: server cannot be found.
Comment: A router MUST NOT forward a packet with an IPv4
Comment: Link-Local source or destination address,
Comment: irrespective of the router's default route configuration
Comment: or routes obtained from dynamic routing protocols.
Comment: A router which receives a packet with an IPv4
Comment: Link-Local source or destination address MUST NOT
Comment: forward the packet. This prevents forwarding of
Comment: packets back onto the network segment from which
Comment: they originated, or to any other segment.
RegDate: 1998-01-27
Updated: 2010-03-15

OrgAbuseHandle: IANA-IP-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Number
OrgAbusePhone: +1-310-301-5820
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@iana.org

OrgTechHandle: IANA-IP-ARIN
OrgTechName: Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Number
OrgTechPhone: +1-310-301-5820
OrgTechEmail: abuse@iana.org


Thanks :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2010 11:18 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Wild guess:
Windows Vista.

Fix:
http://www.reviewingit.com/index.php/content/view/61/2/

Have fun.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 2:27 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 11
Thanks for the help. I have windows 7 though. I still gave it a try but it did not work :-(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 2:57 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
the 169.254 block is used for windows autoconfig if it can't find a DHCP server. That's why I thought it was Vista since you said wireless. Other problems that may cause this are low signal, incompatibility between the router and the card (Linksys comes to mind).

So when using a wire you have the same problem? Any firewalling software active like Norton or McAfee?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 11:18 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 11
Yeah the problem is there with or without cable.

Although it's only with cable i have the 169.254... ip address. Without cable it just doesn't seem to identify any network :-/

Sometimes it actually randomly works if i boot it up or after playing around with the "diagnose problem" setting. But it's so rare it's not worth fiddling around with.

As for firewall program i have none

I doubt a weak signal's the cause of the problem. My brother's laptop works flawlessly :P

It's just my sister's laptop that doesn't seem to want to work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 4:33 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:36 pm
Posts: 485
I had an issue with my laptop not being able to connect to my wireless lan. I had AT&T's tech guys at the house at least 4 times and they weren't able to solve the issue.

My laptop's internal network card 802.11n draft just would not connect. I used 2 Gateway 2 wire routers no good, the same with Linskys, and some other brand I don't remember. The only router that worked is Netgears n router. Never had a problem since.

It seems that my lappy is picky with routers even after updating the network card drivers etc. Something to think about ???????


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 9:31 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
Draft-N is picky, since it's not a true standard yet. You should be able to force the card to use B/G only, and skip the N setting, but it should do that automatically..........

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 12:07 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
"should do" is the key here. drivers are still very fresh and buggy too...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 10:21 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:38 pm
Posts: 8640
Location: Midlands UK
fussnfeathers wrote:
Draft-N is picky, since it's not a true standard yet. You should be able to force the card to use B/G only, and skip the N setting, but it should do that automatically..........


it became a standard september 2009

_________________
"Only two thing are infinite, the universe and human stupidity,and Im not sure about the former." Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 1:54 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
OP never said how old the laptop and router are, though. :wink: Plus, even with a standard set, you've got how many thousands of draft-N routers and cards out there that don't match it?

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group