A router question.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

A router question.

Postby sloopdog 1 » Mon Mar 16, 2009 3:03 pm

I have a Moxa EDS 205 industrial router that I want to use in setting up a 2 pc network.

It can use 12 to 48 vdc or 18 to 30 vac to operate.These do not have a power source included with them.

Can I use the 12 vdc from my psu to safely power this router?

I think it will work, but want some other opinions.
No keyboard detected-Press any key to continue.
sloopdog 1
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2394
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: North Carolina

Postby evasive » Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:23 am

It can use 12 to 48 vdc


this includes the 12vdc you got on your PSU.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby sloopdog 1 » Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:06 pm

Thanks,E. I feel safer now.

Right now the router is running off of a 15 vdc speaker transformer. :D
No keyboard detected-Press any key to continue.
sloopdog 1
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2394
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: North Carolina

Postby evasive » Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:37 am

which is fine too. Any special reason to use the PSU in your system?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby sloopdog 1 » Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:42 pm

Just trying to lessen the amount of transformers and wires.
And put it inside pc cabinet to reduce clutter.I have a terrible mess already. :oops:
No keyboard detected-Press any key to continue.
sloopdog 1
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2394
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 3:31 pm
Location: North Carolina

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Mar 18, 2009 4:14 pm

sloopdog 1 wrote:I have a terrible mess already. :oops:

Nothing could be as bad as what is behind my monitor!! Image No self-respecting rat would go near it!!
It is indeed a shame that a "common" type of power bus isn't used for electronics gear.. as a 12 VDC source would be quite universal, and also allow for automotive use without an inverter!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20663
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Bot], Lindex [Bot] and 2 guests