The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 26, 2018 1:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:10 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:11 pm
Posts: 7
Hello-

I understand most of the details regarding LAN setup, internet bandwidth vs. that of a LAN vs. USB, etc.

My original question was really just about a very limited issue. And that was.... why do modern motherboards now come with two NIC ports on-board instead of just one? And, by extension, is it possible that the two ports can act as a switch? So far the universal answer here has been that the switch guess was wrong, so for my purposes I suppose I will just forget about that 2nd port and happily just use only one <g>.

Thanks to all...

John


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 2:42 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20863
Location: 07438
Having a second LAN port on the mobo eliminates the need for a device card, if a second port is needed. Most of the circuitry for one LAN port can be shared.. just a secondary controller chip.
Since the older COM ports are fading from use, a secondary LAN port is a worthy addition. Many mobos come with up to six rear USB ports.
You could conceivably use the secondary LAN port for sharing an Internet connection, but the system may be taxed for resources.
Some LAN device cards have up to four RJ-45 ports.. but you don't want to know the price of them!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 7:27 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 335
Sorry, I misunderstood. Since you DO have a router, you may add a Gb NIC to the first and set up a separate network thru one of the other's. If you've no extra slot, a USB adaptor to the router is plenty fast for the www.

Today's OS's can make many uses of multiple NIC's (I've seen as many as four on board); switch, router, bridge, fat pipe or separate networks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:08 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:11 pm
Posts: 7
Yes, as mentioned before, my router is part of a combo box supplied by the ISP. This one box is a DSL modem, router, and 4-port switch (but not gigabit, just 10/100). So my path is pretty clear -- buy a gigabit switch and that will do what I want once the new PC with the gigabit port(s) has been built.

Thanks for all the suggestions!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group