Out of ports

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Out of ports

Postby dmid94 » Fri Dec 05, 2008 6:07 am

I have a linksys wireless router with 4 ethernet ports; I find myself needing more ports to hook up xbox live and ps3 and other goodies. I have found straight router with 8 ports:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6833124022

but none with wireless capability also. Could I combine the 2 routers
somehow or do I need a hub? What are some options please?
Thanks in advance
dmid94
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 7:34 pm

Postby Chozo » Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:58 am

The easiest way accomplish your task would be to add a switch to your network. You could add a router but it would cause problems as you would need to configure a different IP range on the second router and then connect the first router to the second router's uplink port. In other words, it's just too complicated.

Use a switch instead of a hub unless you need to extend your network beyond 100m (328 ft). Here's an 8-port model for $40:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124017

I'm sure if you hunt a little more, you could get a better deal too.
Image
Chozo
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:01 pm
Location: Sioux City, Iowa

Postby dmid94 » Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:21 pm

How does the switch connect to the router though?
dmid94
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 7:34 pm

Postby Chozo » Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:11 pm

Connect the switch to the router using a standard (straight-through) Cat 5e/6 cable from one of the router's switch ports (any one that's not labeled Uplink or Internet) to the uplink port on the switch.
Image
Chozo
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:01 pm
Location: Sioux City, Iowa

Postby dmid94 » Fri Dec 05, 2008 6:18 pm

got it, thanks sir
dmid94
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 7:34 pm


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests