The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 11:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:43 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
I've got this Laptop with Vista SP1 on it that drops its connection every so often anywhere from 8 hours to 24 hours usually. My other Laptop with XP SP2 never drops its connection. The only way I can get the connection back is to reboot the laptop, if you double click on the network icon on the task bar it says no networks found. I disabled the onboard wireless and bought a USB wifi connector but that does exactly the same thing. I can get it to run a bit longer by enabling the onboard Wifi and when that loses its connection plug the USB stick in, gives me few more hours. The signal strength is excellent, its only 6 feet away from the router. The reliable laptop is about 10 feet away. Is this a Vista problem or should I be looking at something else?

Thanks,

Pete

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 8:58 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17134
Location: England
I would suggest a Vista problem if you have tried two different wifi cards with the same result... I bet it is a cache or temp file/folder that fill and isn't deleted or renewed... Things I would try...

1) Disk cleanup, scan disk and defrag...
2) Clear your internet cache in IE...
3) do a windows update and update the wifi card driver inbuilt on the laptop if you can...
4) Disable the power control over the wifi card within windows...

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 9:01 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:38 pm
Posts: 8640
Location: Midlands UK
Mr T wrote:
I would suggest a Vista problem if you have tried two different wifi cards with the same result...



4) Disable the power control over the wifi card within windows...



:mb_iagree::

_________________
"Only two thing are infinite, the universe and human stupidity,and Im not sure about the former." Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 10:42 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Thanks....like Copper I like the sound of #4 :) . Will get to it once the wife finishes her EBaying.

Pete

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 2:30 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
That looks to have fixed it, running for 48 hours without dropping connection now. :)


Pete

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group