Weird Bandwidth scores

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Weird Bandwidth scores

Postby iamwhoiamtoday » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:10 pm

I recently replaced my generic Linksys wireless router with a Trendnet tew-633 gr router, and my internet speeds spiked. My ping is about the same, however, I went and ran an internet speed test at http://www.speedtest.net/ and found this:

Image[url][/url]

That's WAY above what my connection is rated for. I'm paying for a 4Mb down and 386Kb up internet connection, so... is there any reason for the massive spike in speeds? could it be Comcast's "Powerboost" thing?

Note: this test was done at 10pm at night
People who have gone through Starfleet academy should be taught how to fix everything. Even a Roman aqueduct.
iamwhoiamtoday
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Iamwhereiamtoday (CA)

Postby kylepaddock » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:19 pm

Image
Can that hapen my ISP says that "There is no way for the speed to get boosted by diferent routers". I have a linksis router
Gateway MT6707 Notebook
Intel Pentium Dual Core T2060 1.6 GHz
Memory 2048 MB 533MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950
224 MB shared video memory
High definition audio 2 channel
160 GB HD
8X Multi-format dual layer optical drive
802.11g wireless LAN
4 USB 2.0 ports
One VGA port
One S-Video
One IEEE 1394
One PCMCIA Slot

If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
kylepaddock
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:58 pm
Location: California, USA

Postby kylepaddock » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:23 pm

now look at this
Image
Gateway MT6707 Notebook
Intel Pentium Dual Core T2060 1.6 GHz
Memory 2048 MB 533MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950
224 MB shared video memory
High definition audio 2 channel
160 GB HD
8X Multi-format dual layer optical drive
802.11g wireless LAN
4 USB 2.0 ports
One VGA port
One S-Video
One IEEE 1394
One PCMCIA Slot

If you have done a transaction with me, please fill out my heatware. http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64039
kylepaddock
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:58 pm
Location: California, USA

Postby iamwhoiamtoday » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:32 pm

Exactly, I have no clue if it's because of the new router or not. That's kinda what I was hoping to figure out...
People who have gone through Starfleet academy should be taught how to fix everything. Even a Roman aqueduct.
iamwhoiamtoday
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Iamwhereiamtoday (CA)

Postby iamwhoiamtoday » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:53 pm

and now it's down to a more sane level:

Image

does anyone have any idea as to the gigantic change in speeds?
People who have gone through Starfleet academy should be taught how to fix everything. Even a Roman aqueduct.
iamwhoiamtoday
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 786
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Iamwhereiamtoday (CA)

Postby evasive » Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:58 pm

I know that score. This is what we have at work here 8)

Image
This is for real...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron