Wireless AP Router and Linksys Expander WRE54G SSID

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Wireless AP Router and Linksys Expander WRE54G SSID

Postby kevinloh » Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:46 am

I have a wireless network at home and since this is a large area, I have installed a Linksys WRT54G Wireless Expander at the edge of my wireless network coverage to extend my wifi signal.

The Signal I get from the Wireless Expander is excellent full 5 bars under windows XP. The problem is I am using the same SSID on both the AP and the Expander and it is required.

My wireless sometimes connect to the AP which is far away and I get one signal bar at 5.5Mbps instead of 54Mbps due to the range, so there is frequent packet loss.

The problem is I want it to connect to the wireless expander which have the same SSID as my AP only and not to the AP. The wireless card is suppose to choose the strongest signal but it drops out from the Expander sometimes.

Is there a way to connect to the SSID for a particular MAC address of my expander? So that even if I am close to the AP or far away it will always connect to the Expander and not the AP. I am using the default Windows Zero Configuration for my wireless.
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3
Intel 3930K 3.20Ghz O/C to 4.0GHz
PHANTEKS PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler
16GB CORSAIR DDR3-2133 LP
SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD SATA3
12TB HDD Drives
EVGA Nvidia 2GB GTX680 Superclocked Signature 2
CORSAIR AX1200W PSU
Sharkoon T28 Green Edition Case
DELL 22 Widescreen LCD Monitor E228WFP
kevinloh
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 2:41 am
Location: Bru 4 30 N, 114 40 E

Postby evasive » Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:16 am

There is a setting for a mandatory access point or blocked access point IIRC. Not sure if this is indeed WZC or the wireless card utility that had this, but something along those terms should be there. I have had exactly the same problem. Question, at what height are your router and extender mounted?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby kevinloh » Wed Jun 04, 2008 6:08 am

Both the wireless expander and AP are mounted as high as possible from the ground near the ceiling, as much as the mains cable can allow.
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3
Intel 3930K 3.20Ghz O/C to 4.0GHz
PHANTEKS PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler
16GB CORSAIR DDR3-2133 LP
SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD SATA3
12TB HDD Drives
EVGA Nvidia 2GB GTX680 Superclocked Signature 2
CORSAIR AX1200W PSU
Sharkoon T28 Green Edition Case
DELL 22 Widescreen LCD Monitor E228WFP
kevinloh
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 2:41 am
Location: Bru 4 30 N, 114 40 E

Postby evasive » Wed Jun 04, 2008 7:05 am

Did you check for the settings I gave you? You'll need to make a manual config though.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby kevinloh » Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:03 am

The WZC only shows one SSID as it shows both the AP and expander as the same SSID.

Using a third party configuration utility that came with my wireless card I can see 2 SSIDs of the same name and which corresponds to the MAC address of the Expander and AP. I have already profiled it but the profile only can select the SSID and not the particular MAC address. When I set it to connect to the MAC address of the expander it will connect to it, but once I switch off my expander (to test it) it automatically switches back to my low signal AP.

In the 3rd party configuration utility there is no option to block Access point.
GIGABYTE GA-X79-UD3
Intel 3930K 3.20Ghz O/C to 4.0GHz
PHANTEKS PH-TC14PE CPU Cooler
16GB CORSAIR DDR3-2133 LP
SAMSUNG 830 256GB SSD SATA3
12TB HDD Drives
EVGA Nvidia 2GB GTX680 Superclocked Signature 2
CORSAIR AX1200W PSU
Sharkoon T28 Green Edition Case
DELL 22 Widescreen LCD Monitor E228WFP
kevinloh
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 2:41 am
Location: Bru 4 30 N, 114 40 E


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests