folding on athlon

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

folding on athlon

Post by J.C.GARCIA »

i have an msi board k7t266 pro v2.0 . at this moment the fsb is set at 200 which gives me a processor speed of 1150mhz . i can also set it to 266 which would give me a processor speed of 1800 . i have the msi temp monitoring program pc alert 4 installed . at idle it gives me a cpu temp of 40-44 centigrade . i would like to start foding on this rig . can someone please tell me what temps am i supposed to expect , just to be on the safe side :?: and also do i put in the same flags as on my intel rigs :?:
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
CDBurner
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
Posts: 4839
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:29 pm

Post by CDBurner »

It sounds like your processor is an AthlonXP 1800+, which should use a 266MHz bus.

AthlonXP temperatures should around or below 50 degrees C when the processor is at full load (like when it's folding).

The best flags for the AthlonXP are: "-advmethods -forceSSE -verbosity 9". "-forceSSE" is needed because [email protected] doesn't use the SSE capability of AMD CPUs by default, but when SSE is enabled, [email protected] runs 2 to 3 times as quickly as when SSE is disabled.
[email protected] Fighting diseases every second. Join us! https://foldingathome.org/
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Post by joshvee »

40 to 44 at idle sounds a bit warm. Just to be on the safe side it might be a good idea to improve your cooling before you wind it up to 266. Can you tell me (describe) what cooling/fans and case you have at the moment? What is the ambient temp of the room that the computer is in?
[img]http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/joshvee2/AlienSig.jpg[/img]
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Post by J.C.GARCIA »

this pc was given to me . i think the cpu fan should be a generic one . no case fans . temp in the room , i'm not quite sure but could be in the 20's but i'll measure that tonight cos i have it at work which is from where i'll be running it . i will also be installing motherboard monitor to see any temp discrepencies and i'll give folding a try . if i see temp going up too much i will stop it . please note that this is my first adventure with an amd so i dont really know which is the safe temp bracket . i know that maybe this isnt the correct forum to post this but i wanted more reception especilly from amd folders . another thing cd burner mentions the flags , is there no need to add the forceasm flag :?:
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
CDBurner
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
Posts: 4839
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:29 pm

Post by CDBurner »

Adding a case fan would probably help keep the CPU a lot cooler. A basic guideline for AMD processors is that if the processor goes to above 50 degrees C at full load, it needs more cooling.

Also, don't use the forceasm flag on this processor. When [email protected] is run on AMD processors, forceasm enables the 3DNow+ optimization , and forceSSE enables SSE (those can't be run at the same time, apparently). The computer gets the work done two or three times as fast with SSE (compared to 3DNow+), so it's best to use forceSSE instead.

BTW, all of my folding rigs have Athlon processors, so I've experimented with the forceasm and forceSSE flags.
Last edited by CDBurner on Fri Apr 02, 2004 7:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
[email protected] Fighting diseases every second. Join us! https://foldingathome.org/
joshvee
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
Posts: 4411
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Location: Australia

Post by joshvee »

I use forceasm in both my AMDs so I'll give it a try witout forceasm and see how it goes.

my AMDs run at 48 to 52c when folding and 32c at idle. I just got them when I had my accident so I haven't done much cooling with them but I do have case fans that I positioned myself (cut holes in the case and only used 1 factory fan hole) and a TT volcano CPU fan.
[img]http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b306/joshvee2/AlienSig.jpg[/img]
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Post by J.C.GARCIA »

ok i will experiment tonight and post something tomm . i think i will have to add a case inlet and outlet and possibly a new more powerful cpu fan
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 5494
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Post by Pette Broad »

I don't normally monitor my temps but one of my Rigs An Athlon XP1900+ runs at 60. Of course, there's no way of saying how accurate this is as it uses a Genesys monitor. Never lost a WU one this one. On the other hand I have an A-Bit board with an XP2600+ that runs at 45-50 yet has real problems running Gromacs. Funny beasts these computers :)

Pete
[img]http://tinyurl.com/3x7anjn/.gif[/img]
trophyhunter_1
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 3:33 pm
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by trophyhunter_1 »

Another thing to consider is the core your using, Palominos run a little hotter than Thoroughbred B's. Low 50's is fine. If you start pushing upper 50's then add more cooling.
Asus K8V Deluxe
Athlon 64 mobile 2800+ (1.4 vcore, 1MB cache)
(25C idle, 28C load)
Thermalright SLK-948U Heatsink
Vantec Tornado 92mm fan
2 sticks Mushkin 256MB PC-3200 Basic Green
ePOWER PUMA II 450W
Tau
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3221
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Essex England
Contact:

Post by Tau »

I have just loaded MBM5 onto my new rig, XP2500 and according to mbm5 its running full load at 33C.
Tau.

"Learn from other people's mistakes, it's quicker."

[img]http://premium.uploadit.org/Bikerman/myth42-Bike2a.jpg[/img]
Post Reply