The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 5:16 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:27 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
leave auto protect on. Two minutes less a unit isn't worth an infection and lost work, plus valued data.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:45 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Hmm, and how would I become infected, I'm not visiting any sites or reading E-Mail :? . Last time I got hit with the Klez Virus it was because I opened an E-Mail that believe or not was targeted at me personaly. My server picked it up the second it hit so no damage was done.

Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:49 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
Pette Broad wrote:
Hmm, and how would I become infected, I'm not visiting any sites or reading E-Mail :? . Last time I got hit with the Klez Virus it was because I opened an E-Mail that believe or not was targeted at me personaly. My server picked it up the second it hit so no damage was done.

Pete


when you dial-up, then you can get nailed. definitely have a firewall on each system. weekly scans makes sense. that's what i was doing when i had a bunch of comps running win98, and seti/ d2ol. i also defragged, and updated virus defs at the same weekly schedule. i used vnc to access the comps. used cat5, nics, and ethernet switch.

btw, when i tried dial up for a week w/ win2kpro, i found the upload/ download process took about 8 minutes total. modem showed about 40+kbps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 7:16 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
O.K, My logs showed 1min 37 seconds and 2minutes 40 seconds. Will leave the Firewall up though. To my knowledge, I've only been hacked once in 10 years when someone briefly got in....that's when I put a Firewall in place.

Cheers,

Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 9:02 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 3707
Location: Great Beer Zone
set cpu usage in the configuration advanced settings to 100%

_________________
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 10:49 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
I presume the scale goes left to right, in which case it's already on 100%

Cheers,

Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2003 2:54 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 3707
Location: Great Beer Zone
does the log file mention anything about extra sse boost ok , like below
Quote:

[22:43:01] Project: 548 (Run 238, Clone 7, Gen 22)
[22:43:01]
[22:43:01] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[22:43:01] Entering M.D.
[22:43:11] Protein: p548_BBA5_ext
[22:43:11]
[22:43:11] Writing local files
[22:43:11] Extra SSE boost OK.
[22:43:13] Opening "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" -nohome http://folding.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/teampage?q=33258 http://folding.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/teampage?q=33258
[22:43:16] Writing local files
[22:43:16] Completed 0 out of 250000 steps (0)


if it doesnt then you've got to pause work , quit and rebbot the pc

_________________
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2003 3:47 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Nope, nothing like that in the log, does mention 3D Now though. In fact, none of the logs except for one a P3 mention SSE.

Cheers,

Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2003 3:54 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 6:32 pm
Posts: 721
Location: Canada
Thats cause Amd processors use 3DNow and Intel processors use SSE.

_________________
Click here to Help humanity! Please join the Motherboards.org Folding Team (33258)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2003 4:00 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Of course 8)

Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group