Good new, and a question

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Tulatin » Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:27 pm

leave auto protect on. Two minutes less a unit isn't worth an infection and lost work, plus valued data.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Pette Broad » Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:45 pm

Hmm, and how would I become infected, I'm not visiting any sites or reading E-Mail :? . Last time I got hit with the Klez Virus it was because I opened an E-Mail that believe or not was targeted at me personaly. My server picked it up the second it hit so no damage was done.

Pete
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby len444 » Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:49 am

Pette Broad wrote:Hmm, and how would I become infected, I'm not visiting any sites or reading E-Mail :? . Last time I got hit with the Klez Virus it was because I opened an E-Mail that believe or not was targeted at me personaly. My server picked it up the second it hit so no damage was done.

Pete


when you dial-up, then you can get nailed. definitely have a firewall on each system. weekly scans makes sense. that's what i was doing when i had a bunch of comps running win98, and seti/ d2ol. i also defragged, and updated virus defs at the same weekly schedule. i used vnc to access the comps. used cat5, nics, and ethernet switch.

btw, when i tried dial up for a week w/ win2kpro, i found the upload/ download process took about 8 minutes total. modem showed about 40+kbps.
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Pette Broad » Sat Dec 06, 2003 7:16 am

O.K, My logs showed 1min 37 seconds and 2minutes 40 seconds. Will leave the Firewall up though. To my knowledge, I've only been hacked once in 10 years when someone briefly got in....that's when I put a Firewall in place.

Cheers,

Pete
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby J.C.GARCIA » Sat Dec 06, 2003 9:02 pm

set cpu usage in the configuration advanced settings to 100%
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Postby Pette Broad » Sat Dec 06, 2003 10:49 pm

I presume the scale goes left to right, in which case it's already on 100%

Cheers,

Pete
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby J.C.GARCIA » Sun Dec 07, 2003 2:54 pm

does the log file mention anything about extra sse boost ok , like below

[22:43:01] Project: 548 (Run 238, Clone 7, Gen 22)
[22:43:01]
[22:43:01] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[22:43:01] Entering M.D.
[22:43:11] Protein: p548_BBA5_ext
[22:43:11]
[22:43:11] Writing local files
[22:43:11] Extra SSE boost OK.
[22:43:13] Opening "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" -nohome http://folding.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/teampage?q=33258 http://folding.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/teampage?q=33258
[22:43:16] Writing local files
[22:43:16] Completed 0 out of 250000 steps (0)


if it doesnt then you've got to pause work , quit and rebbot the pc
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Postby Pette Broad » Sun Dec 07, 2003 3:47 pm

Nope, nothing like that in the log, does mention 3D Now though. In fact, none of the logs except for one a P3 mention SSE.

Cheers,

Pete
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby Ladd » Sun Dec 07, 2003 3:54 pm

Thats cause Amd processors use 3DNow and Intel processors use SSE.
Ladd
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 721
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 6:32 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Pette Broad » Sun Dec 07, 2003 4:00 pm

Of course 8)

Pete
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

PreviousNext

Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: magpie [Crawler] and 1 guest

cron