The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:22 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 3:04 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
here's a link to an open-gl tester:
http://mannymax.no-ip.com/fah/GLTest.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 5:38 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
All made by micron? The last stick of micron i tried on this board caused it to have error's out the wazoo. Try something with hynix chips - corsair is one.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 9:58 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:29 pm
Posts: 4837
Tulatin wrote:
All made by micron? The last stick of micron i tried on this board caused it to have error's out the wazoo. Try something with hynix chips - corsair is one.


Actually, that was me using the Micron RAM in a K7T Turbo2. Riley0853 was using other brands of RAM. I'm sorry to hear that it didn't work for you; my machine's been very stable so far running F@H and other apps, and Micron RAM has worked perfectly on every other system in which I've used it.

_________________
Image

What is Folding?
Wookie's F@H Site


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 10:00 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
What i found odd is that the stick worked perfect on my Ole Bh7 (died by failed bios flash), and an MSI 645MAX, both times at 333, but here, wouldn't even go at 266.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 12:34 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:29 pm
Posts: 4837
I'm confused; are you talking about DDR RAM? The MSI K7T Turbo2 is a uses the VIA KT133A chipset with PC133 RAM.

_________________
Image

What is Folding?
Wookie's F@H Site


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 1:02 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Yes, i'm talking about CL 2.5 DDR333 chips by micron.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 1:11 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:29 pm
Posts: 4837
Ah, that explains it. I was talking about PC100 and PC133 chips (I can use both at the same time because my Athlon Thunderbird is the type with the 100MHz bus).

_________________
Image

What is Folding?
Wookie's F@H Site


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 1:22 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 232
Location: the folding farm
ran both memtest and open gl test and everything checked out fine. have some pc133 ram coming for someone elses machine that i will try in this one. but that won't show until saturday or monday so i'm open to any other suggestions in the meantime. after passing the open gl and the memtest i fired f@h up again this morning (twice). froze up both times after cpu temp got to 48 although it ran for quite a while at 48 the second time.

_________________
Help humanity! Join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 9:02 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 232
Location: the folding farm
no joy. the new ram arrived and i promptly installed it and fired up f@h. different ram, same old freeze up. not that i was any high performance crucial or mushkin or pny or anything. just bargin dane elec at a decent price from newegg for someone who was severely under memoried. i'm open to any suggestions. help :(

ps have just noticed that if i open the f@h program and pause it, it still freezes. have done this twice now. isn't this odd considering it's not doing any work?

_________________
Help humanity! Join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2003 12:47 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Try changing the motherboard's drivers - updating everything in essence. Also, maybe it's the motherboard...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group