The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:56 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2003 1:02 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 2842
Location: Downey, CA
Take a look here at VNC:
http://www.realvnc.com/what.html

Once the PC's are setup, you only need the keyboard, and monitor after a reboot. You can do everything on the remote PC's from your main PC.

I have a 4 port KVM too, but I was running upwards of 10 machines at once using VNC.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2003 6:08 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Thanks for the info, I'll look into that one. I have my system linked up using a series of 3Com Office Connect Hubs. I use a combination of Coax, to link the hubs and Cat5 to link the PC's to the hubs. I've been using RA as my remote control agent till now, but there's no harm in trying VNC.

Cheers,

Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003 2:53 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
ultra vnc is the best- it's config'd for file transfer as well (only variant to have that feature). all versions seem to use real vnc documentation. i used it briefly while running seti on win2k, and win98 boxes. even rebooted remotely, which of course is necessary for windows comps, esp. after doing windows updates, and AV, and firewall updates. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003 3:55 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Wookie8662 wrote:
Take a look here at VNC:
http://www.realvnc.com/what.html

I have a 4 port KVM too, but I was running upwards of 10 machines at once using VNC.


How does a complete network of 150 systems sound? Before we used the integrated remote control feature of Novell zenworks (one less program in the mix while building the image) it was VNC all the way :) Love it.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003 12:23 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
i found that real vnc regenerated images kind of slowly, and ultravnc was better.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003 1:43 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 3:52 pm
Posts: 286
Tulatin wrote:
Good God Man! Take em all, and put in your attic. Make a folding floor.


hot attics don't mix well with folding pc's running at full bore! cool deal though on the pc count! sounds like my pad.

_________________
Default_Dave's STATS! Team #33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003 2:17 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Well, there is ways around that - just have an AC unit up there, or floor fans blowing onto clusters


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 2:48 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:29 pm
Posts: 4837
Pette Broad wrote:
I even got 9 old Socket 7 desktops underneath the bed, 3 more are stacked up in the hallway. 27 no less in my computer room, 2 in the kitchen, over 50 in the loft, plus a few others dotted about here and there.


Wow, that's incredible! I just can't imagine how much processing power they would all have combined together!

_________________
Image

What is Folding?
Wookie's F@H Site


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 3:46 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
it would be nice if some are pIII's though. they have sse instruction sets, and this gives about a 20% performance boost. the pI's and pII's labor to get the wu's completed w/ in the deadline. they might (will) need to have a gah wu pref config'd. if the wu isn't handed in on time there will be no credit for all the time it spent folding away. this is the reason to set it to gah for the older sub 500mhz ones- at least you'll get some credit for the work performed. the latest 4.00 version (if you install the 3.24 graphical first, there will be a replacement of the 3.24 executable w/ the 4.00 executable, and renamed the same as the 3.24 one for an update to merge w/ the full graphical install to work out correctly) has a new gah wu queue program that can hold up to 10 wu's. seems that it's still in need of having some bugs worked out though, so it'll have to be monitored from time to time to make sure it's working ok. but as gah wu's have no deadline, filling the queue to 10, and letting the machine crunch away for a month+ w/ o internet connection might be an option to consider. i think it would be safe to say that you can forget about 486 comps, unless you have some of the latest dx4-100 ones (did they make dx4-120's?). i forget which ones, but something like the most powerfull 486's produced could beat the earliest pentium systems. if you have win95 os's, there will be a need for some patches to be applied for it to work correctly. i think that win95 needs a min of 16mb just for the os, and win98 needs 24mb system ram. so an imaged win95 install could be a nice asset, as it require less system ram to function (haven't used win95- some say it's better to use win98 though). definitely remove outlook express, and use msconfig in win98 to reduce startup items. there's an msconfig version available for win95 here:
http://www2.whidbey.com/djdenham/Msconfig.htm

have fun! :)

btw, here's a start for the patches to run win95:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows95/down ... 5sockets2/


Last edited by len444 on Wed Nov 26, 2003 4:09 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 3:51 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:29 pm
Posts: 4837
So, the sub-500MHz computers aren't actually able to fold without special configurations? Would my Celeron 366 computers be fast enough to fold at all?

_________________
Image

What is Folding?
Wookie's F@H Site


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Istellabot [Crawler] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group