Download Folding@Home for 1.4ghz comp. Is it working fine?

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Download Folding@Home for 1.4ghz comp. Is it working fine?

Postby YouGiveMeRash!!! » Thu Oct 16, 2003 2:16 pm

Hi all.

I wanted to try out Folding@Home for a second extra comp I have. I got a PM from Smurf Pimp and so I decided to use my second comp for it.

Here is the thread I used to get started=
http://www.motherboards.org/forums/view ... hp?t=33399

I had a few questions-

When the graphical view of the Molecule keeps changing and at the bottom of the window dialog box, it says WORKING....

The WU Progress says 10/500 (2 percent). This took about 20-30 minutes. Is this a normal rate or is it slow?

I am also behind a firewall but I dont think that has affected anything.

Am I on the right path?
Main rig: 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D E6750@ -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
Laptop: Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 1.6@ -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...
YouGiveMeRash!!!
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 6772
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2

Postby evasive » Thu Oct 16, 2003 2:32 pm

10-15 minutes per percent is about a day per WU which is quite good for a 1.4 on a 500-framer. Since it has been able to get a WU it will be able to put the result back. As long as you have put in 33258 for the team number everything is OK.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby YouGiveMeRash!!! » Thu Oct 16, 2003 2:36 pm

ok cool thx
Main rig: 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D E6750@ -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
Laptop: Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 1.6@ -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...
YouGiveMeRash!!!
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 6772
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2

Postby Southwind25 » Thu Oct 16, 2003 3:15 pm

Thanks for joining up!!!
Image
Southwind25
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 7339
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:56 am
Location: Kansas

Postby Tulatin » Thu Oct 16, 2003 3:55 pm

Indeed, thanks for joining the team and supporting us. As to the molecule continuousally changing, that's normal - it's just the view changing.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby YouGiveMeRash!!! » Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:09 pm

ok so lets say that my dad needs to use that pc that is running folding@home.

He rarely goes online but lets say the time comes up when he does.

Is there any way I can pause the folding?

If I close the program while it is folding, will it start back where it left off?
Main rig: 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D E6750@ -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
Laptop: Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 1.6@ -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...
YouGiveMeRash!!!
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 6772
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2

Postby Southwind25 » Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:13 pm

You can pause it and it will resume at the same spot, but it can run while you surf. I multitask and even play games some with it running.
Image
Southwind25
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 7339
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:56 am
Location: Kansas

Postby Tulatin » Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:14 pm

Just leave folding running - he won't notice the speed difference. As to shutting it down, and it picking up - some work units do, while others either reset, or request a new one when they are cut off halfway though. The best method is to pause folding when you do this, that way nothing is lost.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby YouGiveMeRash!!! » Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:20 pm

so he wont notice a difference even if I am giving 100% CPU usage dedicated to Folding@Home?

EDIT: ok nm, i just tested it, it works fine while surfing the net, no difference.

Ill leave it running then!
Main rig: 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D E6750@ -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
Laptop: Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 1.6@ -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...
YouGiveMeRash!!!
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 6772
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2

Postby Tulatin » Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:24 pm

Exctly my point. Even playing games you won't see much difference (unless you have onboard/useless video...)
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Next

Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron