2 F@H clients on 1 machine

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Tulatin » Tue Sep 16, 2003 4:02 pm

the quad pumped did make a nice increase in memory bandwidth though. As to the htt being twice as fast on 1 client, or normal on 2, you'll get the work done at the same speed! 1 a day, or 2 every 2 days.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby evasive » Tue Sep 16, 2003 4:48 pm

hyperthreading is only efficient if you have a lot of different processes going on at the same time. It's completely useless for one or two similar processes or in this case, identical processes. What it is meant for is to be able to fill your total CPU time a bit better.

If it were two physical processors, yes, that would make a difference. All you do now is splitting the CPU power of one processor in half. Splitting a two-lane road into two one-lane roads with the cars running at the same speed. Still the ame amount of cars going through per given time unit.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby J.C.GARCIA » Tue Sep 16, 2003 6:58 pm

i would just like to collaborate some of the findings included on the log file . using windows graphical v3.24 minimize on taskbar and pc only folding .
p912 100 framer 7min29secs per frame using fahcore 78
p685 400 framer 7min27secs per frame using fahcore 65
p681 400 framer 4min26secs per frame using fahcore 65

the times are not always exact on each frame but i have noticed that sometimes it takes 10 more seconds to complete a frame , but sometimes it takes 30 seconds less to complete a frame .
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Postby Tulatin » Tue Sep 16, 2003 7:33 pm

The time it takes per frame is a rough approximation. However, the best results are attained when it's got total freedom of cpu cycles, like a few hours with no nterference or input - it really flies then.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby J.C.GARCIA » Tue Sep 16, 2003 7:44 pm

correct the above results are with pc only folding and with no interferance whatsoever
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Postby Tulatin » Tue Sep 16, 2003 7:45 pm

Ah. Makes sense. Those seem about average.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby len444 » Wed Sep 17, 2003 9:47 am

J.C.GARCIA wrote:i would just like to collaborate some of the findings included on the log file . using windows graphical v3.24 minimize on taskbar and pc only folding .
p912 100 framer 7min29secs per frame using fahcore 78
p685 400 framer 7min27secs per frame using fahcore 65
p681 400 framer 4min26secs per frame using fahcore 65

the times are not always exact on each frame but i have noticed that sometimes it takes 10 more seconds to complete a frame , but sometimes it takes 30 seconds less to complete a frame .


are you using the -advmethods -forceasm flags, and still getting the 600 series Tinker WU's?
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Postby evasive » Wed Sep 17, 2003 1:33 pm

Yep, I think they somehow disabled the headers that would decide if it's tinker/gromac because the tinkers need to be done too...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby J.C.GARCIA » Wed Sep 17, 2003 2:59 pm

yep i am using the advmethods forceasm commands
p4 2.4b 533mhz fsb
epox 4bea2
768mb ddr pc2100
radeon 7000 64mb w/tv out
120gb seagate hard drive 7200rpm
40gb seagate hard drive 5400rpm
live 1024
dvdrw lg gsa 4040b
cdrw btc 48x16x48x
xp home
J.C.GARCIA
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3707
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Great Beer Zone

Postby evasive » Wed Sep 17, 2003 3:20 pm

Same here, getting tinker too now and then. I really think they are trying to get those out asap.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron