The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 191 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 20  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 9:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
OK next question.....If you are only running 1 instance of F@H on a hyperthreading machine, it uses BOTH virtual CPUs so doesnt it run twice as fast?

Now if you run 2 instances, they use 1 virtual CPU each....well doesn't that mean that each instance is only running half as quickly as 1 instance running both virtual CPUs? and if so, then whats the point of running 2 instances.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 9:30 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
OK nevermind that last question....I found the answer...

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 9:46 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
yep josh, it only takes advantage of 1 proc of a time. You could always run one command line and one gui model though... 4000 posts.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 11:33 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
ok I now have the 2 console clients running (tks Aussie for that link...smurf you should add it to the web page)

next question.....I never ran the console clients before (always ran graphical clients) can I close the consle windows? will the clients still be running? and if so, how do I open the consoles again?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 2:16 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Quote:
I never ran the console clients before (always ran graphical clients) can I close the consle windows?


Yes.

Quote:
will the clients still be running?


No.

If you want to run the console version but "hide it" this is what you want:-

http://home.comcast.net/~wxdude1/emsite/hideitx.html

I've never used this program so you are on your own. :wink:



Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 4:08 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
hmm I think I'll just leave it showing. :oops: :)

Now I'm running 2 clients I have noticed that 1 runs MUCH faster than the other. 1 does a frame every 3.5 mins and the other does a frame every 13 mins. Anyone know why so much difference?

When running only 1 client it did a frame every 6 mins regardless of the WU.

Seems odd :?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 4:30 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
The time taken to complete a frame will vary from one work unit to the next, you are running two instances of the console and each is working on a different work unit so it is only natural for the "frame time" to differ.

I also believe that the P4's "virtual CPU's" when hyperthreading are not identical in their capabilities, that is one is stronger than the other.

The variation in work units and the points credited is quite dramatic I have discovered from a little experimentation. Using one machine running 24/7, recording the time taken and points credited for each work unit I have seen the time taken to generate one point vary from 12.25 minutes to 26.16 minutes between work units. That is quite a variation considering that everything other than the work unit was constant.

I would expect the "points generation rate" of a given machine to vary over a much narrower range between work units if the points scoring system was accurate.


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 5:01 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
Aussie wrote:
The time taken to complete a frame will vary from one work unit to the next, you are running two instances of the console and each is working on a different work unit so it is only natural for the "frame time" to differ.

I also believe that the P4's "virtual CPU's" when hyperthreading are not identical in their capabilities, that is one is stronger than the other.

The variation in work units and the points credited is quite dramatic I have discovered from a little experimentation. Using one machine running 24/7, recording the time taken and points credited for each work unit I have seen the time taken to generate one point vary from 12.25 minutes to 26.16 minutes between work units. That is quite a variation considering that everything other than the work unit was constant.

I would expect the "points generation rate" of a given machine to vary over a much narrower range between work units if the points scoring system was accurate.


Aussie


Hmmm yes makes sence....just checked out the two WUs and the fast one (3min per frame) is only worth 15 points and is running on processor 0 (which would be the real processor.)
The slow one is worth a lot more points (70) and is running on processor 1 (the virtual processor)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 3:28 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Word of the wise josh - swap the processor that they run on - give the big boy the main (51. real) proc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 10:19 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
Tulatin wrote:
Word of the wise josh - swap the processor that they run on - give the big boy the main (51. real) proc.


hmm tried that and it didn't make any difference now thats odd.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 191 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 20  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group