slight problem w/ wu's

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

whiteboy
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
Contact:

slight problem w/ wu's

Post by whiteboy »

Lately I have been noticing that on my computer [email protected] keeps wqanting to connect to get more WU's. no biggie except that it wqant to dend data and get a new unit after only doing a 10-15% on a 250 or bigger WU.
I can sit here and watch it get to about 23/400 then say thats it need to connect to send data and get new WU. then it will download new WU then want to connect again for another one with in minutes. so far this has done it on both versions 3.24 and 3.25, graphic and console, have also reinstall and with same results. Does anybody have any idea what is going on. if it counted on the scopre it would be no biggie but all it does is add to my total amout of WU's and my score stay the same :(
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Post by len444 »

are you overclocking?
whiteboy
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
Contact:

Post by whiteboy »

yeah but not much xp2000+ oc'd to 1.76Ghz (133FSB-->141FSB)

Is that the cause b/c now that you mention it once i started to bump up the FSB over 140 this started to happen and win xp started to become unstable at 145FSB
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Tulatin »

Hmmm. are you getting a different work unit or the same one every time? My folding is really weird - it resets, sends, gets, new WU... and i try deleting all the wu data - it goes and gets the same 1 again...
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Post by len444 »

if the system becomes unstable , then reducing the OC slightly might help. also consider what type of memory is being used, and what memory timings are being used. if running at a faster cas setting (lower#), then set that back to spec rating. i don't OC currently, but i run stock cas setting w/ aggressive memory timings. you should check out the bios forum, as there is an optimization sticky that has some good links in it. clean up/ tweak your bios, and that might make the difference.
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

Post by len444 »

Tulatin wrote:Hmmm. are you getting a different work unit or the same one every time? My folding is really weird - it resets, sends, gets, new WU... and i try deleting all the wu data - it goes and gets the same 1 again...
the protein# is the same, but will be at a slightly different stage of the folding process. i think i've seen that they are just giving out only 1 copy of each protein at first, and then they analyze what they get/ don't get back, and reissue only then. so if things crap out, and you get a new WU w/ the same protein#, it will be different.
whiteboy
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
Contact:

Post by whiteboy »

Tulatin wrote:
Hmmm. are you getting a different work unit or the same one every time? My folding is really weird - it resets, sends, gets, new WU... and i try deleting all the wu data - it goes and gets the same 1 again...
As far as i can tell different WU's. One will be 400 the next 500 then maybe a 250...Always changing
Len444 wrote:
you should check out the bios forum, as there is an optimization sticky that has some good links in it. clean up/ tweak your bios, and that might make the difference.
Checked posts cleaned and tweaked both bios and windows and its still gets unstable.. going to try some better ram some time this month (using PNY now)
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008
whiteboy
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
Contact:

Post by whiteboy »

Just notice the size of my current WU. Looks like I got one of those nice 2500 suckers. This would not be a good time for my system to act up since this WU should give a nice score. Can you back up data from WU and restore them?
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008
User avatar
Ripshod
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 708
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 2:57 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Post by Ripshod »

I was passed this tip from someone else. In the folder that [email protected] is in you will find a folder called 'Work'. This contains details of your current WU and progress. Copy this somewhere else and if folding should fail copy the folder back, opting to overwrite everything. I don't know if this works, been trouble free for a while, but it's all I can suggest.
CALL &BD19 (If you need to ask you don't need to know)
[url=http://valid.canardpc.com/2639760][img]http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/2639760.png[/img][/url]
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Tulatin »

Those 2500s are all i've been getting ,worth a nice 50 points a pop, and are just 100 framers in disguise. Now, as to ocing causing folding istability - iif i push it to 2.7, it rips thru, but freezes... i don't know if the work is lost, so i just stuck with a safe 2.5
Post Reply