The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:19 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: absolute speed
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:04 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 1:51 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Owasso, OK
This post may have been posted before but i dont know where what r the absolute fastest flags to set to make use of this water cooled processing machine with 1 gig of ddr 400

_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:44 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
what are your system spec's?

ok, i see ddr 400, but no mention of mb, and cpu, but it's safe to assume it's quite new. 3.25 beta console, and just use the flags as per the team page guide. one consideration is to specify FAH WU preference under advanced config options, and 100%cpu (windows version). i use low priority setting. accept other defaults, and let it crunch away. use ctrl -c to close the console version correctly (or pause then quit the graphical version).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2003 8:27 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 1:51 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Owasso, OK
well its a dragon ultra and its got a 2.1 Ghz proc

_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 11:44 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 8:09 pm
Posts: 45
After setting your F@H on desktop open properties and on the target line insert -advmethods -forceasm. it should look like this when done "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winfah.exe" -forceasm -advmethods
Make sure you have a space before each hyphen in it.

G

_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2003 5:03 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
gryphyn wrote:
After setting your F@H on desktop open properties and on the target line insert -advmethods -forceasm. it should look like this when done "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winfah.exe" -forceasm -advmethods
Make sure you have a space before each hyphen in it.

G


pretty sure ...winfah.exe is the 3.24 version, which only applies forceasm on the first WU, and not the successive WU's. 3.25 beta has been reworked to keep -forceasm active. -forceasm "flag" applies sse speed boost, by using the sse optimizations on the cpu. might be as much as a 20% speed boost (provided sse is ion the cpu). 3.25 beta link is at bottom of downloads page. but adding the flags will be exactly as gryphen states. just a heads up regarding how the 3.25 beta is better than 3.24 version.

copy of changelog:
Quote:
Folding@Home 3.25 beta
May 7, 2003

----------------------------------------------------------------------
THIS BETA WILL NOT EXPIRE.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
RECENT CHANGES (Client) - from 3.24 Release:


3.25 beta (unmarked)
--------------------
- If -forceasm is used, then on every execution of the core until the
client is restarted, SSE optimizations will be used if possible (if
the chip is an AMD chip, then be default, without the flag, it would
not be chosen over 3DNow). Prior to this client, this effect would have
held true only for the first work unit run after starting the client.


beta page:
http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/beta/beta.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2003 12:52 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 11:13 pm
Posts: 4411
Location: Australia
gryphyn wrote:
After setting your F@H on desktop open properties and on the target line insert -advmethods -forceasm. it should look like this when done "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winfah.exe" -forceasm -advmethods
Make sure you have a space before each hyphen in it.

G



This is exactly what I do on my 1.5gig + comps and I set my client type to "folding@home".....but one more point. I set the Core priority to "slightly higher".

with my less than 1.5gig comps I set my client type to "Genome at home" or "no preferance"....I find that this way it seems to download 100 framers and usualy 50 points (score) hey I must be doing something right look at my average..... score 1834....WUs 41 = 44.7 points per WU

PS I'm running 3.25 beta and Windows XP pro on all my machines even the 233 MHZ P2

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 6:05 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 1:51 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Owasso, OK
next time im over at his place and his girl friend says "ok sure he can come over" LOL i'll do that instead


right now hes just got 3.24 graphical running in the back ground and i presume it will take care of the sending and recieveing of the WU's without my presence

_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 7:53 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 3987
joshvee wrote:
PS I'm running 3.25 beta and Windows XP pro on all my machines even the 233 MHZ P2


joshvee, i'm curious as to how the pII 233mhz comp is holding up? are you running GAH preference, or just letting it do FAH WU's?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 8:01 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 1:51 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Owasso, OK
oh put this on my moms machine too so now i got a superfast machine at my friends house folding and my moms machine folding :cry: i wish i had internet i wish my job haddnt screwed me over so that i would have had internet by now :x

_________________
Help humanity .....join the
Motherboards.org
folding team! 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 8:08 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Why not just use freebies liek the aol trials to connect when you need to?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group