The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Aug 14, 2018 12:06 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 141 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ... 15  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 6:17 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Sounds good in theory Tulatin but there are a couple of problems with that.

The 1333 will OC to 1500 but the bloody thing gets as hot as hell and you've got to turn it into a wind tunnel to keep it alive. Besides it's my wifes computer and she likes to hear herself think.

The Celeron is my business machine where I keep all of my business records, do my on-line banking and Tax returns etc. Not exactly the sort of machine you want to place at risk by overclocking it.

There's enough grunt there in total anyway without pushing my luck.


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 6:18 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
well, throw an slk700 on the athlo0n and be fine with it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 7:37 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
The poor little Celeron has been lumbered with this:-

Quote:
[16:16:23] + Attempting to send results
[16:17:44] + Results successfully sent
[16:17:44] Thank you for your contribution to Folding@home.
[16:17:44] + Number of Units Completed: 7
[16:17:48] + Attempting to get work packet
[16:17:48] - Connecting to assignment server
[16:17:49] - Successful: assigned to (171.64.122.111).
[16:17:49] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[16:17:49] Loaded queue successfully.
[16:17:57] + Closed connections
[16:17:57]
[16:17:57] + Processing work unit
[16:17:57] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
[16:17:57] Core found.
[16:17:57] Working on Unit 08 [August 16 16:17:57]
[16:17:57] + Working ...
[16:17:57]
[16:17:57] *------------------------------*
[16:17:57] Folding@home Gromacs Core
[16:17:57] Version 1.49 (June 23, 2003)
[16:17:57]
[16:17:57] Preparing to commence simulation
[16:17:57] - Looking at optimizations...
[16:17:57] - Created dyn
[16:17:57] - Files status OK
[16:17:57] - Expanded 197085 -> 956949 (decompressed 485.5 percent)
[16:17:57] - Starting from initial work packet
[16:17:57]
[16:17:57] Project: 323 (Run 5, Clone 14, Gen 1)
[16:17:57]
[16:17:57] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[16:17:57] Entering M.D.
[16:18:04] Protein: p323_nat_321
[16:18:04]
[16:18:04] Writing local files
[16:18:04] Extra SSE boost OK.
[16:18:04] Writing local files
[16:18:04] Completed 0 out of 2500000 steps (0)


:? :? :? :?


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 7:38 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
So basically it's taking ofrever to fold? Try re-installing and gettin a new WU.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 9:59 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
Tulatin wrote:
Anybody got an XP2000+ that wants a duel come september?


You still want that challange T.

I have a XP2000+ on a ECS K7S5A PRO v.5 not OC'd

I also have a GIGABYTE GA-7VKML I coud throw the chip on.

My question is this. Shoulld I leave it at spec or OC'd and on what mobo would be best. I'm not real involved in the specs of each mobo and cpu's or OC"d like most of the people in here but any suggestions about what combo to use I would welcome and might be willing to try. Other specs of the system would be one stick of 256MB PNY DDRram @PC2100 and stock HSF. My temps are around 47C-55C under 100% load now depending on if I have my A/C on or my fan pointed at my case. THIS IS ALSO A BUDGET MACHINE...but who cares. it works. I can do what I want to and I built it...thats all thats matters to me, not AMD or INTEL or how one can beat the other. Also not much of a budget at this time so any new parts will be in short supply.

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:02 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
September though, and you had might as well OC the chip to 2500+ levels - if possible.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:03 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
And one more thing...the only thing I plan on buying and changing will be my Graphics Card. ( See Sig ) Going to finially retire my old Diamond after 4 years and put in a new ATI AIW either 9700 pro or 9800 pro havn't decided and still comparing prices.

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:05 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
thats fine. other then speed which mobo would you think best. i can cahnge and reconfig windows in a nght if i need to. and I need afvice on OC'd

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:06 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Also, you may want to run that ram at pc2700 speeds. Alternately i could just drop the clocking. Now, the challenge is a 16 hour period, most WUs, random.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:12 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
I can try to get the Ram up that high. 16 hours? right now i do maybe 1-2 in that time frame with my everyday usage on here. If i can get memory up and speed up I will try your challange, but maybe do a 24 hours time frame?

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 141 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ... 15  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group