Record Sized WU!

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Aussie » Mon Aug 18, 2003 6:17 pm

Sounds good in theory Tulatin but there are a couple of problems with that.

The 1333 will OC to 1500 but the bloody thing gets as hot as hell and you've got to turn it into a wind tunnel to keep it alive. Besides it's my wifes computer and she likes to hear herself think.

The Celeron is my business machine where I keep all of my business records, do my on-line banking and Tax returns etc. Not exactly the sort of machine you want to place at risk by overclocking it.

There's enough grunt there in total anyway without pushing my luck.


Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Postby Tulatin » Mon Aug 18, 2003 6:18 pm

well, throw an slk700 on the athlo0n and be fine with it.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Aussie » Mon Aug 18, 2003 7:37 pm

The poor little Celeron has been lumbered with this:-

[16:16:23] + Attempting to send results
[16:17:44] + Results successfully sent
[16:17:44] Thank you for your contribution to Folding@home.
[16:17:44] + Number of Units Completed: 7
[16:17:48] + Attempting to get work packet
[16:17:48] - Connecting to assignment server
[16:17:49] - Successful: assigned to (171.64.122.111).
[16:17:49] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
[16:17:49] Loaded queue successfully.
[16:17:57] + Closed connections
[16:17:57]
[16:17:57] + Processing work unit
[16:17:57] Core required: FahCore_78.exe
[16:17:57] Core found.
[16:17:57] Working on Unit 08 [August 16 16:17:57]
[16:17:57] + Working ...
[16:17:57]
[16:17:57] *------------------------------*
[16:17:57] Folding@home Gromacs Core
[16:17:57] Version 1.49 (June 23, 2003)
[16:17:57]
[16:17:57] Preparing to commence simulation
[16:17:57] - Looking at optimizations...
[16:17:57] - Created dyn
[16:17:57] - Files status OK
[16:17:57] - Expanded 197085 -> 956949 (decompressed 485.5 percent)
[16:17:57] - Starting from initial work packet
[16:17:57]
[16:17:57] Project: 323 (Run 5, Clone 14, Gen 1)
[16:17:57]
[16:17:57] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[16:17:57] Entering M.D.
[16:18:04] Protein: p323_nat_321
[16:18:04]
[16:18:04] Writing local files
[16:18:04] Extra SSE boost OK.
[16:18:04] Writing local files
[16:18:04] Completed 0 out of 2500000 steps (0)


:? :? :? :?


Aussie
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King
Aussie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 10244
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Postby Tulatin » Mon Aug 18, 2003 7:38 pm

So basically it's taking ofrever to fold? Try re-installing and gettin a new WU.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby whiteboy » Mon Aug 18, 2003 9:59 pm

Tulatin wrote:Anybody got an XP2000+ that wants a duel come september?


You still want that challange T.

I have a XP2000+ on a ECS K7S5A PRO v.5 not OC'd

I also have a GIGABYTE GA-7VKML I coud throw the chip on.

My question is this. Shoulld I leave it at spec or OC'd and on what mobo would be best. I'm not real involved in the specs of each mobo and cpu's or OC"d like most of the people in here but any suggestions about what combo to use I would welcome and might be willing to try. Other specs of the system would be one stick of 256MB PNY DDRram @PC2100 and stock HSF. My temps are around 47C-55C under 100% load now depending on if I have my A/C on or my fan pointed at my case. THIS IS ALSO A BUDGET MACHINE...but who cares. it works. I can do what I want to and I built it...thats all thats matters to me, not AMD or INTEL or how one can beat the other. Also not much of a budget at this time so any new parts will be in short supply.
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008
whiteboy
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl

Postby Tulatin » Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:02 pm

September though, and you had might as well OC the chip to 2500+ levels - if possible.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby whiteboy » Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:03 pm

And one more thing...the only thing I plan on buying and changing will be my Graphics Card. ( See Sig ) Going to finially retire my old Diamond after 4 years and put in a new ATI AIW either 9700 pro or 9800 pro havn't decided and still comparing prices.
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008
whiteboy
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl

Postby whiteboy » Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:05 pm

thats fine. other then speed which mobo would you think best. i can cahnge and reconfig windows in a nght if i need to. and I need afvice on OC'd
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008
whiteboy
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl

Postby Tulatin » Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:06 pm

Also, you may want to run that ram at pc2700 speeds. Alternately i could just drop the clocking. Now, the challenge is a 16 hour period, most WUs, random.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby whiteboy » Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:12 pm

I can try to get the Ram up that high. 16 hours? right now i do maybe 1-2 in that time frame with my everyday usage on here. If i can get memory up and speed up I will try your challange, but maybe do a 24 hours time frame?
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008
whiteboy
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl

PreviousNext

Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests