The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:57 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 141 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:13 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
The issue to the challenge is that i'm forced to shut the computer down when i go to bed; so 16 hours would end up being 6 am to 10 pm.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:16 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
Anybody willing to help me try and get my system up to speed for this challange? need help OC"d CPU and bumping my Ram speed up to 2700. and any other tweaks that might make this fun.

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:18 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
ok..thats fine. I leave mine on 24/7 so you just have to give me a time frame of when to start. IF I get my machine up for it. If I do this now it will give me a week to see how things go and if it stays stable.

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:18 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
I could always clock down for the challenge - after all, if i wanted to go balls to the wall, i'd set the cpu to 2.74 Ghz, which would throttle my ram all the way up to 182 Mhz (x2 for 364 Mhz)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:21 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
I always wanted to try my hand at OC'd anyways.....lets try my end first if I can't get it up to what you think i should have you can always bring yours down to my level. maybe even kindof meet in the middle somewhere.

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:22 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Good nuff. You give me the PR of the chip you can OC to the level of, and i'll throttle to there. Hopefully you can hit 1.833 ghz though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:35 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
I'm also assuming that I will have to unlock either mobo or cpu. So what would be the best way. IF i remeber the gigabyte board has more bios options to change for Cpu speed then the ECS. And how do i change clock speed of ram or is that part of the cpu?

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 11:27 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
We agreed on the time frame but I think there are other stuff to go over.

1. 16 hours window with rendom WU's

2. Do we strat with a freash WU or does the one we are working on at the time count?

3. Are we looking for most WU's or total score?

4. If one of us gets a monster WU at the time and it doesn't finish in 16 hours, do we take it under consideration for scoring. Lets say it 88% done at time up, do we only count 88% of whatever score it brings in or does the contestant lose automaticlly?

5.We need to post stats B4 hand to go by OR do we use different names for the challange?

anything else?

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 11:43 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Posts: 14664
Location: Canada
Fresh WUs - otherwise would be cheating, done by most WUs or if a monster one, most frames. New User Names , but just our with [Challenge 1] Tag attached.

As to ocing that chip, you will have to unlock it, see my post in OC'ers anon.

As to what we get, total score is worthless, as we can both just delete WUs until we get 50 point 100 framers. Now, i say we do it as a combo of WU, Frames and Score - your # of WUs times your score times # of frames.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:39 am 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:36 pm
Posts: 439
Location: Lehigh Acres, Fl
OK her are some b4 specs to compare by.

ECS mobo XP2000+ w/ PR2429 (Sandra 2000)
CPU multi 12.5x, core 1.74v, bios settings of 133/133 (cpu/dram)

sandra's benchmarks are Dhrystone 4572 MPS, Whetstone 2290 MFLOPS


Now i start the mods.

First ECS mobo only has these settings for cpu
100/100,100/133,133/133,166/133 mobo wont post sitting on 166/133
no way to change mutlip. but might be able to change Vcore

I think the Gigabyte board allowed you to step bother FSB and Vcore Plus change Mutlip. Would it be a good idea to swap put mobo first?

_________________
Amd Phenom 9500 Quad on a ECS a770m mobo
4 gigs ram
ATI Radeon x1950pro w/1 gig ram video card
2 250 gig samsung sata HDs
2 lite on sata dvd burners
all in a raidmax blue neon case running Vista64
total cost under $600 built march 2008


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 141 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group