The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 12:11 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: cpu work units...
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2016 7:10 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3671
Location: Washington D.C.
are there any cpu work units to download anymore? 'cause no machine I have folding on does them anymore. it's all about the gpu, and that's all that gets dl'ed, as far as I know.
what's going on?

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cpu work units...
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2016 3:22 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
I still get CPU work units. Perhaps your client version is not up to date?
Had to go with Win 7 OS version, a few years ago.. as Win XP was no longer compatible.
Did an upgrade to Win 10, but reverted back to Win 7. Too much 'crapaloogah' with Win 10!
Check the "Requirements" in this link..
https://folding.stanford.edu/home/guide ... all-guide/

My F@H setup, semi-dedicated..
Case: Generic 5-bay full tower.
Mobo: Intel D975XBX2KR I975X LGA775.
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz, (SL9S8) 1066 FSB speed.
CPU cooler: Dynatron K987.
Memory: G Skill 2 GB, GSK F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK 1066 Timing 5-5-5-15.
Video: Nvidia-EVGA GTX460 PCI-E x 16, 1 GB.
Audio: SigmaTel STAC9271D 8-channel.
PSU: Antec 650 watt (EA-650).
Hard drive: Seagate ES ST500NM0011 500GB 7200 RPM SATA.
Optical: Sony DVD R/W 540A and Pioneer DVD R/W 116D.
OS: Win 7 Home Premium

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cpu work units...
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 5:44 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3671
Location: Washington D.C.
using version 7.4.4

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: cpu work units...
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:20 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
You can easily check on the F@H status by right-clicking the icon in the SysTray box, then choose 'advanced control'. A panel will show if there is CPU plus GPU activity, and the progress.
Recommended by Stanford to use the provided screen saver for minimal background activity while the GPU folding is active.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group