Display probs with new folding

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Display probs with new folding

Postby ~PJ~ » Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:27 am

Just had to reinstall Windows on my laptop because odd things were happening... downloaded the new system tray client installer so I can turn it on and off easily, and it seems to be running Ok - but when I click on display it crashes the whole computer. Mouse moves round with the hour glass attached, but nothing else works.
Anyone else had this happen??
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.
~PJ~
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5791
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Leeds, UK

Postby Karlsweldt » Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:54 pm

Strange. Did you start anew with no partitions or files on the drive? Any remnants of the old system can cause problems.
Does the laptop have sufficient memory to work the F@H process plus reserve for other programming or needs? May be the memory is marginal in paging speed, and causes a lock-up or 'Kernel' dump. The mouse may still work, but only in a dead-stick mode.
The Event Viewer in Administrative Tools would have a log of what happened, and a possible clue as to cause.
A weak battery may also be the cause. The AC power supply doesn't have the brute, instantaneous reserve of a battery.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20661
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby Pette Broad » Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:57 pm

Yeah, its a problem related to DirectX and your graphics divers. If you run anything that requires DirectX then this usually happens. No way round it other than not clicking on the tray icon or using the console version.

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby ~PJ~ » Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:24 am

Pette Broad wrote:Yeah, its a problem related to DirectX and your graphics divers. If you run anything that requires DirectX then this usually happens. No way round it other than not clicking on the tray icon or using the console version.

Pete


Is this just the new folding? 'Cos the old one is running on several machines in the sys tray with no problems at all.
When you say 'Direct X and my graphics drivers' - is folding incompatible with them?? Or do they need updating?
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.
~PJ~
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5791
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: Leeds, UK

Postby Pette Broad » Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:04 am

It seems to be machine specific, some work fine, some don't. Installing the latest divers should help though.

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K


Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests