The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:44 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Server full?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:45 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
I've never really understood this page - but it says that server 171.64.122.82 is full. Is that why one of my computers can neither send in the WU or receive a new one? Been like that for nearly 24 hours now. tried restarting a couple of times, and the computer's been off all night.
Nuisance - new build and 3.2GHz CPU...

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:46 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20850
Location: 07438
Very possible, or is "down" for maintenance or off-loading.
The servers are attended to hourly during 'normal' working times, but may not be attended to more than once daily on week-ends. Night times may also see less frequent maintenance checks.
If you have a lot of WUs to submit, then use the flag [ -sendall] with the console's command line. You may be connected to any available server, but may have to wait longer for credit of the WUs. It is preferred that issued and submitted WUs be with the same server assignment. Have had to wait up to two days with some submissions.
Don't know the limit of how many queued WUs can be retained.. but when the process can't get any work to do, best to shut the process down for a few hours. Gives the other WU processes more "free" CPU cycles.
The locations of servers isn't shown.. for obvious security reasons.. but likely there are some servers in other countries besides the parent Uni site.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 2:23 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
My bad - new build and I'd put the firewall on AFTER I set up FAH...
Doh :oops:

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:31 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20850
Location: 07438
Certain it was due to Firewall permissions?
If the program were worth its essence, it would request a class of "access rights" for any program that attempts to get on the Internet.. not just a blanket blockage!
If the listing for the server IP is noted in the Firewall restrictions as "blocked", then you should have the option to set it for "fully trust" or "filter" or otherwise.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:09 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
FAH was already up and running when I installed the firewall. This is the computer in my bedroom that I use for recording, so when the fiewall asked for permission I wasn't there. If you don't grant access within a short time it blocks to be on the safe side. Which I suppose is fair enough. Once I'd granted FAH full access it went straight through.

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:33 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20850
Location: 07438
Safety by default! Best way there is!!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Server full?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:47 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
~PJ~ wrote:
but it says that server 171.64.122.82 is full.


The message from the server is a bit misleading. Full actually means that the server is both accepting and sending work.

Pete

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:43 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
Yes, I finally worked that out in like the tenth read... :oops:
On the second unit, although it picked up a new one no prob it wouldn't submit the finished one.
Turned out it was a glitch with the IE settings as well. I'd set it to not use IE settings, but I think it got confused when I put IE7 on.
I had to set it to yes; stop folding; restart folding; set it to no; stop folding; restart folding.
Right performance.

Trouble is, I put folding on first of all. It's a very good way of checking the stability of a new build and monitoring what the computer's up to when I'm not there.
But sometimes things that I put on afterwards [like Firewalls and IE7] can throw a bit of the proverbial spanner into the works.

However, it's going like a goodun, and is about to finish it's 4th WU.

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group