The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 10:12 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 8:58 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
Here is a reference link for all processor types from Intel.
And Processor Socket Types:
For the Pentium III class from Intel.
For the Pentium II class from Intel.
The core voltage ranged from 1.35 volts to 1.75 volts.. and some early models used a 2.0 volt core.
The Pentium II and Pentium III class were somewhat interchangeable, if in the cartridge package.

There are socket adapters known as "Lin-Lin" that allow setting the voltage/bus ranges with jumpers.. for some non-supported processors on some mobos.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:23 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
quite right. I missed out the word 'coppermine' from my last post - hence totally confusing the issue and taking this post rather OT, my apologies.

The point I was making was all coppermine celes were socket 370, whereas the PIII coppermines came in both slot 1 and socket 370.

Back OT, if you want to try OCing that cele, try getting your hands on some PC100 RAM, with a bit of luck you may be able to run it on a 100Mhz bus, but the usual overclocking risks apply.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 8:00 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20862
Location: 07438
Not all processors that "fit" the socket class are compatible.
Certain pins on the newer CPUs are for specific keying to control the core and I/O voltage, bus speed and ratio. Plus access to internal cache memory.
A few of the Socket 370 and Slot 1 setups had some jumpers to set.. but most of the models used an auto-set process. With today's socket types, there seldom is any controlling jumper on the mobo that is for the CPU setup. Almost all feature control is via the 'soft-set' from the BIOS pages.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 5:10 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 5491
Location: Flintshire, U.K
Karlsweldt wrote:
Not all processors that "fit" the socket class are compatible.
Certain pins on the newer CPUs are for specific keying to control the core and I/O voltage, bus speed and ratio. Plus access to internal cache memory.
A few of the Socket 370 and Slot 1 setups had some jumpers to set.. but most of the models used an auto-set process. With today's socket types, there seldom is any controlling jumper on the mobo that is for the CPU setup. Almost all feature control is via the 'soft-set' from the BIOS pages.


Yes, the early P2's/370's had a few jumpers to set. My first Intel P2 board had a setup jumper which you had to short then go into the Bios and change the speed. Setting up an Asus 333 board was a nightmare but compared to some Super Socket 7 boards even that was a piece of cake :)

Pete

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group