SMP Usage Requirements?

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

SMP Usage Requirements?

Postby SkyWlf77 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:41 am

Hi there...

I saw on the FAQ page at Stanford the Mac Pro they use as a baseline, but their requirements only say it works best on Woodcrest Xeon or Core2Duo CPU's. It didn't state anywhere what the minimum requirements are.

Therefore, my question is this: I have just built the following machine:

Dell PowerEdge 1600SC
Dual Xeon 1.8GHz/512K/400MHz FSB Single-Core CPU's
1.5GB ECC/Registered PC2100 RAM
Running Windows 2000 Advanced Server

Should I use this to run the SMP Client or should I just use two instances of the F@H 5.03 client?

Thanks,
Jason
My Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=48800

System 1: 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM, 1x500GB HDD & 1x1TB HDD, Palit GTS 250 1GB
System 2: 3.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2-800 RAM, 120GB HDD, BFG 7800GTX 256MB
System 3: Dual-533MHz PowerMac G4 Digital Audio, 1.5GB RAM, 120GB HDD
SkyWlf77
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:27 am

The OS does properly recognize all cores, correct? Then there should be no problem with distribution of work load across all cores. But the Console version you note is now "504" in the latest revision.
There also is a version 6 for the x86 platform, in Beta.
Check this thread concerning it.
There are links in my reply post as to DL site for all versions, as well as console commands and FAQs.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20659
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby SkyWlf77 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:46 am

Hi, Karl!

Long time since we chatted...

Anyway, yes the OS recognizes both CPU's--thus my reason for using Advance Server instead of just the regular Win2000Pro (plus this machine is to be used as a fileserver as well).

I've updated my bookmarks to reflect the new 5.04 client. I don't use Beta programs due to possible stability issues.

So, should I use SMP or 5.04?

As a side note: I do intend to upgrade this unit to Dual 2.4GHz CPU's and 4GB of RAM in the near future--would this make a difference?

Thanks,
Jason
My Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=48800

System 1: 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM, 1x500GB HDD & 1x1TB HDD, Palit GTS 250 1GB
System 2: 3.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2-800 RAM, 120GB HDD, BFG 7800GTX 256MB
System 3: Dual-533MHz PowerMac G4 Digital Audio, 1.5GB RAM, 120GB HDD
SkyWlf77
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby Pette Broad » Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:51 am

Jason,

I guess you are concerned about the tight deadline? Well, the only thing you can do is try it out. Just run it for a few hours and take a note of the frametimes. Presuming 100 frames with a deadline of 96 hours means that if you can get a frametime around 55 minutes you should be O.K. Don't be too worried about deleting the unit if you can't make the deadline as these are very quickly reissued.

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby SkyWlf77 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:55 am

Hi, Pete!

Long time since we talked, too...

Sounds good. I'll give it a try. Also noting the frametimes will let me know how it should perform with the future upgrades...

Thanks,
Jason
My Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=48800

System 1: 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM, 1x500GB HDD & 1x1TB HDD, Palit GTS 250 1GB
System 2: 3.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2-800 RAM, 120GB HDD, BFG 7800GTX 256MB
System 3: Dual-533MHz PowerMac G4 Digital Audio, 1.5GB RAM, 120GB HDD
SkyWlf77
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby Karlsweldt » Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:09 am

I run two WU processes on my P4 setup, with no problems. Each is in a separately named folder, on different partitions. No "crosstalk" problems.
I don't use the GPU process flags due to the video card not being classified as 'acceptable' for it. But I do have the -advmethods and -SSE boost flags on.
All my WUs finish in about 1/2 the minimal time noted in the 'current projects' page from Stanford.

Most of those GROGPU projects require a high-end video card that has "free" cycles. A 256 Mb video card should be about minimal needed.
Some projects have a very short deadline.. they are intended for systems that run 24/7.
I only give a 16-hour work day. Can't afford the extra "revs" on the electric meter!
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20659
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Postby redeye53 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:25 am

I'm running the SMP client on a dual Opteron 244 setup and they run at 1.8Ghz with no problems and they do a WU in about two days
I'll turn in my first on that tomorrow, a day before the recommended deadline. 8)
On the other hand I just built a Spider platform with a 9500 Quad core and it'll run for 5 mins then reboot. I've tested this thing 17 ways to sunday and have NO stability problems whatsoever but it will just not run SMP's. Probably just a half-baked Gigabyte bios. Too new... :roll:
Image
redeye53
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1522
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:31 pm
Location: Troy N.Y.

Postby Pette Broad » Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:23 pm

That's a pity. I guess you'll have to run 4 instances of normal folding instead :)

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5490
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby SkyWlf77 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 6:25 pm

Hi, redeye...

If your Optys are running that close to deadline, my Dual Xeon unit will never make it--maybe not even with the upgrades in place.


Hi, Karl...

I run all of my units 24/7 mostly because of the low electric rates where I live. My Video Card doesn't quite make the requirements for running GPU Folding, so I haven't messed with that yet, either. I might check it out once the HP is up and running again with an ATI HD2600XT Video Card in place.

Thanks,
Jason
My Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=48800

System 1: 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4, 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM, 1x500GB HDD & 1x1TB HDD, Palit GTS 250 1GB
System 2: 3.0GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB DDR2-800 RAM, 120GB HDD, BFG 7800GTX 256MB
System 3: Dual-533MHz PowerMac G4 Digital Audio, 1.5GB RAM, 120GB HDD
SkyWlf77
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby redeye53 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:05 pm

Jason wrote:
If your Optys are running that close to deadline, my Dual Xeon unit will never make it--maybe not even with the upgrades in place.

As it looks right now it'll finish 20hrs before the RECOMMENDED deadline... the final is 24 hrs after that so I think your zeons will do fine :wink:
Image
redeye53
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1522
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:31 pm
Location: Troy N.Y.

Next

Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron