SMP client config and instances on notebooks

This forum is for discussions about the Motherboards.org Folding team. What is folding? Venture on in for a look.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

SMP client config and instances on notebooks

Postby ThEvil0nE » Fri Dec 14, 2007 9:10 am

How many instances of SMP clients should you run on a T2130 with 1gig of memory? In SMP config, what should be the CPU usage and mem settings be?

For now I'm running 1 instance of SMP with cpu usage set at 50 and full usage of the memory.

thanx
Image Image
ThEvil0nE
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 12:01 am
Location: New York

Postby Pette Broad » Fri Dec 14, 2007 9:24 am

Just the one I think. Keep an eye on the deadline and push the CPU usage up as much as possible or you might miss it.

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5491
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby ThEvil0nE » Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:35 am

got it 8)


btw... I was running F@H503 GUI and did not delete the folder after uninstall, is it ok that I have installed and ran smp while leaving the f@h503 folder?
Image Image
ThEvil0nE
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 12:01 am
Location: New York

Postby Pette Broad » Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:55 pm

Yes, that'll be fine as long as you installed SMP into a different directory. I'm not sure what the consequences of installing it into the same directory might be, there might be an issue if there was a previous .cfg or queue.dat file still in there.

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5491
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby ThEvil0nE » Fri Dec 14, 2007 5:23 pm

Both were in their own folders. What happened tho when I ran SMP for the first time is it continued to work the unit where f@h503 left off. I'm not sure if I'll leave it as it is tho but checking on both .cfg, nothing has changed on the old one and the SMP's .cfg looked correct a swell.

What's the best thing to do now? :?
Image Image
ThEvil0nE
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 12:01 am
Location: New York

Postby Pette Broad » Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:44 am

Not really sure but I did read a while ago that you should finish off any standard units before you start with SMP. Just finish off the current unit using the -oneunit flag and then restart SMP.

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5491
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby ThEvil0nE » Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:23 am

Got it... thanx 8)

Any other flags that I have to set when already running SMP?
Image Image
ThEvil0nE
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 12:01 am
Location: New York

Postby Pette Broad » Sat Dec 15, 2007 12:32 pm

The flags you need look to be built into the client and are activated without any user intervention so none needed as far as I can see.

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5491
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Postby ThEvil0nE » Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:49 am

Ok work done on 1st lappy but seems to have an error????

Image

:?
Image Image
ThEvil0nE
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 12:01 am
Location: New York

Postby Pette Broad » Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:49 am

Nothing to worry about, I've seen it a few times myself. It just means that the core was unable to delete some of the files it no longer needs. They'll get deleted when your folding reaches slot 01 again.

Pete
Image
Pette Broad
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 5491
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Flintshire, U.K

Next

Return to Motherboards.org Folding Team

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest