The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:44 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2348
Location: Capital District Area, NY
The F@H CPU has stopped folding.

I haven't changed my PC recently. This problem just started today.

I was able to fix the GPU folding problem with a driver/F@H update. But I have the latest updates.

How do I fix this?


Last edited by BIGMAN131307 on Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:21 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:09 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Open the console, check if the process has been 'paused' for some reason. Or possibly the servers are "full" or "down".
You have a similar thread where the server status can be checked via its URL, and if any projects are offered.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 1:32 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2348
Location: Capital District Area, NY
I seen I made a typo for this thread. The CPU has stopped folding. I fixed the typo.

How do I "Open the console, check if the process"? I know how to pause/unpause using the task bar & web control.


In the Advanced Control box is shows this:
Folding Slots:

ID / Status / Description
00 Ready cpu:2
01 Running gpu:0:GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] 4372

Work Queue:

ID / Status / Progress / ETA / Credit / PRCG
00 / Update_Core 0.00% / 1.70 days / 150 / 14063 / (0, 1, 20)
02 / Running 59.62% / 1 hours 20 mins / 22833 / 13816 / (0, 1847, 41)


So how do I fix this issue? It seems like F@H is getting to be more of a pita than it used to be.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:24 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
No problem with corrections. Your stats show the GPU is doing fine.
Should be an icon in the SysTray box (lower right corner) if the program is active and part of the process group.
Right-click on it, and several tabs should open as to performance, current WU, and status of your folding (running log) and what server you are hosted to.
The CPU does not do as much as before, the GPU does the major F@H process. Semi-dedicated to folding, where the CPU has to do multiple tasks for all data management. The recommended screen saver for the F@H process imposes minimal video needs, allowing optimal folding power. There are also not too many projects intended for the CPU.
Maybe some help from this link.. https://foldingathome.org/faqs/configuration-guide/
As to server stats, check here.. http://fah-web.stanford.edu/pybeta/serverstat.html

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 3:11 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2348
Location: Capital District Area, NY
:?

I checked the F@H forums. It looks like the Stanford servers may be having work done. Hopefully that is whats going on. I'll wait a few days and see what happens.

Thx for the help so far. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:09 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
The Stanford parent servers are reportedly maintained daily. But sometimes a day passes without maintenance (weekends), and the storage drive can become full. Hopefully that is all.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:20 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2348
Location: Capital District Area, NY
Seems like it's fully loaded now. F@H is fully up and running now both CPU & GPU. :)

It would be nice if we could get some kind of message about possible down times. F@H could run a small message script explaining why it is not folding.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:31 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Quote:
F@H could run a small message script explaining why it is not folding.

Hopefully, that may come some day. Other active features in the SysTray box have different icon styles, showing anomalies and normal. Good all is working normally again.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group